Back to Normalcy

I’m skipping over Monday and Tuesday, just for the time being, because some of the many, many pictures I took are currently on a camera that… well… I left at home.

So for now, I’ll just skip ahead to Wednesday and hope you don’t mind when I do a little time traveling.

I started yesterday with… wait for it… boot camp!

I think San Francisco was good for me. In case you haven’t heard, that place is hilly! I did a ton of walking. In fact, the only times I took any kind of transportation were when I took the BART to the hotel from the airport and vice versa, and when Foodbuzz provided bus transportation to and from the Food Fare.

Anyway, the point is that I think all of that walking was good for me. Though I did feel twinges of pain in my achilles tendon at random points throughout the weekend, I can now safely say that the creaking seems to be gone and I haven’t really felt any pain in days.

So, yesterday morning began with my usual 45 minutes of boot camp and 40 minutes on the elliptical trainer… and I cannot tell you how happy this all made me.

Since I’m still craving lots and lots of fruits and vegetables, I started the day off with a smoothie in a bowl. 🙂

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • a huge handful of fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • heaping tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries

On top:

  • drizzle warmed coconut butter
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax

Ahh, it feels good to be back in the swing of things.

On Tuesday night, I prepped for meals during the week by roasting some pre-chopped (thank you, Trader Joe’s, for making my life easier!) sweet potatoes in the oven for just under an hour at 350 degrees.

This made lunch on Wednesday very easy. I sprinkled about 1 1/2 cups roasted sweet potato chunks with cinnamon and nutmeg and separately sprinkled about 2/3 cup black beans with cumin, salt, pepper and garlic powder. I also brought another little container of nonfat cottage cheese.

I warmed the potatoes and black beans each in the microwave for about 2 minutes, then layered everything together to make a warm mess of a lunch.

For dessert, I had my one and only ( 😦 ) Frog Hollow Farm pear from my Foodbuzz swag.

Seriously, this was quite possibly the best pear I have ever had. So juicy and flavorful!

Things were a little too hectic on Tuesday to have Tea Tuesday, so Kim made me some tea on Wednesday, instead. This week, it was Thousand Mountain Jasmine Tea.

This tea was definitely one of the most aromatic teas I’ve ever had. It tasted like it smelled (like flowers), and I love that. Fortunately, it also offered a pick-me-up, which I sorely needed. I’ve been pretty exhausted lately!

I also snacked on one of the new Larabars, Chocolate Chip Brownie, which I saw and immediately snatched up while I was in San Francisco!

I loved this new bar. It tasted like dessert. Quite possibly my favorite Larabar to date?!

That’s a big statement.

Before I went home, I had a friend date and ended up having more tea! After this past weekend, I wasn’t much feeling the normal “go out for drinks,” nor did I even feel up for a restaurant dinner, a fro-yo outing, or anything else of the like. In short, I was kind of no fun. Fortunately, Michelle felt similarly, so we ended up getting together at…

The Coffee Bean. Around 7pm on a Wednesday.

We’re old ladies, basically.

I tried a new-to-me tea, the Winter Dream. It was delicious and smelled so good (like Christmas!). However, it was caffeinated and I had big plans to crash early, so I only had a few sips.

Sadly, I didn’t last long (sorry, Michelle!). My body was telling me it needed to go home, and I couldn’t do anything but listen.

As soon as I was home, I warmed up some leftover Berkeley Vegan zPizza (on wheat crust).

It was kind of nice not to have to do anything for dinner except stick it in the toaster oven.

Mark then made me some more tea (decaf peppermint this time), and then I crashed. Hard. I needed sleep!

Wednesday Morning Workout

5 minutes elliptical trainer warmup

45 minutes boot camp (wooo!)

35 minutes elliptical trainer (30 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

3 responses to “Back to Normalcy

  1. i had that same larabar at lunch today! however, i find i don’t actually like the brownie larabars. the chocolate chip cookie dough is a whole OTHER story!

    it was so great to meet you – i wish we had more time to chat. foodbuzz fest was so crazy, no?

    happy almost friday!!!

  2. Erin

    Winter Dream tea is my favorite seasonal drink EVER.. anywhere! I must suggest trying it in latte form with the no sugar added vanilla powder. It’s TO DIE FOR!!!!

  3. Did you like that sweet potato, cottage cheese, and black bean combo? I can’t imagine what that would taste like, but am very curious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

