Thursday Already?

It’s been an odd week.

Between taking last Friday off, spending the weekend away, and taking Monday off while in LA (not to mention the time change on Sunday!), it’s been hard to keep up with what day it is.

It’s also been exhausting. I don’t know if it feels like the end of the week has snuck up on me or if it feels like it’s been one extremely long week for about… oh, a month now.

A little bit of both.

Even though I was tired, I was pretty determined to get to strength training this morning. So, I did, plus 40 minutes on the elliptical. Despite being tired, I’m very happy to be back in a routine.

…I respond well to structure. I’m like a well-behaved kindergartener.

After my workout, it was smoothie time!

I pulled a Monica and tried her favorite protein powder: Cherries Jubilee. I liked it a lot!

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • heaping tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 packet Spiru-tein Cherries Jubilee
  • 2/3 frozen banana
  • 1/3 cup frozen cherries

On top:

  • drizzle warmed coconut butter
  • handful Shredded Oats

As much as I enjoyed the flavor of the new protein powder in this smoothie, I’m not sure it completely filled me up. Fortunately, someone brought muffins into work, so I helped myself to a blueberry variety.

Lunch came soon enough, though, and I was pretty excited about the veggie-packed meal I’d put together that morning.

Into the mix went:

  • 1 heirloom tomato, chopped
  • leftover zucchini, sliced and sauteed (about 2 zucchini’s worth)
  • ~ 1/3 cup black eyed peas, cooked
  • 2 leaves basil, ripped into pieces
  • drizzle olive oil (probably about 1/2 tbs)
  • salt & pepper to taste

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to eat it hot or cold – and it was good both ways – but I decided I preferred it cold. It tasted like summer!

I only ate about 2/3 of the salad, as it was a lot of food. I saved the rest; perhaps I’ll be able to incorporate it into another meal.

No need to get into it, but I had a pretty crappy afternoon. By the time dinnertime came around, I wanted to make something entirely effortless (but still healthy).

The result? Scrambled eggs and improvised Sweet Potato Hash Browns.

The eggs were nothing special – two eggs with salt, pepper and a little grated parmesan & romano and low fat shredded cheddar.

The potatoes, on the other hand, were a keeper.

I sauteed about 1/8 onion (diced) in a little butter, then added about 1 cup roasted sweet potato chunks and sprinkles of rosemary, salt and pepper. Once everything was entirely sauteed, I also added a little grated parmesan & romano.

I came up with a winner there. I’ll be making that combination again!

Okay… time to pass out. Goodnight!

Thursday Morning Workout

5 minutes elliptical trainer warmup

45 minutes strength training

35 minutes elliptical trainer (30 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “Thursday Already?

  1. omg! I am obsessed with sweet potatoes in any shape or form and these sound incredible. YUM!

  2. Laura @Backstage Pass

    Okay, those sweet potatoes look divine! You really have an eye for creating gourmet yet relatively easy recipes. I must try these, and soon!
    Sorry that you had a crummy day. Glad that it’s Friday now? I am feeling TGIF today!

  3. Sorry you had a cruddy day! Hopefully those sweet potatoes made it better though because they totally would have in my world – those look killer!

Leave a Reply

