A Perfect Day, Part 1: Sister, Sister

So, within an hour of my landing time at LAX (where I made eye contact with Seth Rogen, by the way, no big deal) on Sunday after the Foodbuzz Festival, someone else also landed at LAX – my sister!!!


I cannot tell you how excited I was to have Sam visiting, even though it was going to be for less than 48 hours. All I knew was that we were going to have to make the most of it!

We were both pretty tired and hungry, as was Mark (who was kind enough to pick us up from the airport), so the very first thing we did was to pick up some pizza. Sam and I had both spent our weekends eating not-so-great for us foods, so we were both craving vegetables. Mark and Sam are also both vegetarians, so the meal choice was fairly obvious: the Berkeley Vegan pizza.

(That’s actually a shot of the leftovers a few days later, but don’t you worry about that. 😉 )

We went to bed pretty soon after, as we were exhausted and also had big plans for the next day (Monday)…

…Sam and I were going hiking at Griffith Park!

First, though, we had to fuel up. I made some oatmeal for the both of us.

Into the mix (for two!) went:

  • 2/3 cup oats
  • 1 1/3 cups water
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 capfuls pure vanilla extract
  • 2 dashes Splenda
  • a few dashes of cinnamon
  • ~2/3 cup frozen berries

On top:

  • Cacao Bliss (you know I love someone when I share that)
  • slivered almonds

With that, we were fueled and ready to go!

I was a little worried about my muscles and, more importantly, my achilles tendon handling hiking after all of the hilly walking in San Francisco, but – thankfully! – I was absolutely fine.

The day was abnormally clear and the views were absolutely beautiful.

Aren’t those clouds insane?

It wouldn’t be a touristy post about LA if it didn’t include palm trees at some point. 😉

See downtown LA in the distance?

Here’s a better shot of downtown LA:

Not so beautiful: my hair after hiking in the wind. But, honestly, how could I not post the picture of Sam and me with the Hollywood sign?

P.S. – I am definitely wearing my 10K shirt with pride here.

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to “A Perfect Day, Part 1: Sister, Sister

  1. Great shirt! I have the same one…

  2. You should totally wear that shirt with pride! Looks like you and your sister had a great time!

  3. YAY! I love my sister so much so I totally know how you feel-so glad you got to spend time with her before she moves!!!!

  4. Sarah

    You both look gorgeous and happy!

  5. Awww I love sibling time! You two are cute!

    PS, the Santa Monica 5,000 was my first and only 5k. I watched all you 10k folks run by and was so jealous that you all got to keep running!

  6. Pingback: A Perfect Day, Part 2: Lunch at RFD « Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

