None of the Work, All of the Benefits

Last night, I walked into the apartment to the amazing smells of bread.

Not just bread. Whole wheat blueberry walnut bread.

I know.

I’m going to need to get the recipe for you guys. However, Mark says he needs to do a little tweaking before he shares.

Pssssh.

Perfectionist.

As much as I love baking, I also love when other people bake and I get to reap the benefits without any of the work. 🙂

Anyway, after a little taste of that bread last night, I woke up knowing I needed to have it for breakfast this morning.

First, however, I had to work out. Unfortunately, this morning was one of those mornings when I had to force myself to go. I probably should have taken the fact that I let myself fall back asleep for a few minutes as a sign. Instead, however, I the sign I chose to take was the fact that I woke up only a few minutes later.

So, I went. I did boot camp and the elliptical. Nothing special, but I got it done. Oh, and boot camp kicked this girl’s booty.

At least I had breakfast to look forward to! First, though, I had to make a stop at Trader Joe’s to get this:

After reading about it on Monica‘s blog (and especially about how she needed to lick the container clean…) and Amanda and Andy‘s blog… there really wasn’t any way I could resist any longer. And, frankly, Mark and his bread presented me with the perfect opportunity.

All I did was slice and toast two pieces of bread and top them with the Pumpkin Cream Cheese and a big handful of blueberries. Tons of flavor and no effort. Well, no effort on my part. Mark and Trader Joe’s did all the work.

Sadly, though I had big plans for lunch, they kind of fell through. You see, the plans were made around supplementing yesterday’s leftovers, but those leftovers didn’t keep very well overnight.

Oh, well. Lunch was still yummy, it was just more carb-based than I would have liked after a carb-based breakfast.

Plus, it was all (well, mostly) orange!

It involved an edamame hummus (another TJ’s favorite) and cheddar sandwich; roasted sweet potatoes with cinnamon, nutmeg, a little butter and a sprinkle of brown sugar; and a carrot, peeled and cut into sticks.

It did the job!

The highlight of the day?

Coffee Bean Friiiiiday!

After my taste of this Coffee Bean tea the other night and a subsequent comment on here that I needed to try it in a latte, I knew what I needed to do. I had to try the Winter Dream Latte.

I’m not sorry. However, I did miss my regular Friday afternoon kick of espresso!

I am also dorkily (I’m making it a word) excited about the holiday-themed sleeve. Basically I get dorkily excited about… well, anything holiday-themed.

Whew! I’m happy the day is wrapping up. I need the weekend. I’m so excited to sleep.

Friday Morning Workout

45 minutes boot camp

35 minutes elliptical trainer (30 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

Unless I suddenly feel differently over the next couple of days, I’m taking the whole weekend off from working out. My body needs a break.

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “None of the Work, All of the Benefits

  1. mmm winter dream? sounds fantastic!

  2. hoping for that bread recipe soon – it looks amazing!

  3. That pumpkin cheesecake spread sounds so delicious! Our Trader Joe’s just opened today and I can’t wait to check it out tomorrow. This makes the top of the list!

Leave a Reply

