The Best of Friends, The Worst of Friends

One of these was entirely necessary this morning.

It was that kind of morning. And yesterday was that kind of day. Let’s just leave it at that.

Thank goodness Starbucks (and especially its Thanksgiving Blend… mmm…) heals most things. Or, you know, it helps, anyway.

Also consumed this morning? A cottage cheese mess.

Into the mix went:

  • ~3/4 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 2/3 pear, chopped
  • big handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax
  • 2 dashes cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg
  • ~tbs pecan pieces
  • tsp pumpkin butter

It was pretty, at first.

Until it wasn’t.

And it was consumed early, as a result of my 5:30 am wake-up call to go to the gym. I wanted a real workout and had an early appointment, thus the ungodly waking hour.

To show you lunch, I need to back up to last night’s dinner. And, to explain last night’s dinner, I need to show you the following:

Because the picture doesn’t give you a great sense of its sheer size and mass, let me tell you this: that bag comes up to my knees.

I’m not big on white rice, but the purchasing of that bag of rice was not initially intended for consumption.

Lets just say that water and electronics are not the best of friends.

Anyway, in case you can’t tell, not much of that rice ended up being used for its initial intent, so I decided to start making a dent in it by using it for last night’s dinner. I like to think of it as a very small but optimistic way of making lemonade out of lemons.

I can barely take credit for this “recipe,” as this guy really gets all the credit:

(But I’m going to take credit for it anyway.)

That was one winner of a purchase.

Thai Curried Rice & Beans

makes 3 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup white rice
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbs unrefined coconut oil (so much better than the refined variety)
  • 2 zucchini, sliced & quartered
  • 2 carrots, peeled & chopped
  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed & drained
  • 1/4 – 1/3 cup Thai Yellow Curry Sauce (yum!)

Directions

Prepare your rice (with the water) in a rice cooker or pot. (Really, just a rice cooker. If you don’t have one, go out and spend the $20. So worth it.)

When the rice is about halfway done cooking, melt the coconut oil in a saucepan and saute the chopped carrots and zucchini.

When the vegetables begin to soften, add the chickpeas to the vegetables.

Once the chickpeas have begun to brown slightly and once the rice is done cooking, add the rice.

Finally, add the sauce. Allow the mixture to simmer for a few minutes or until everything is heated through.

Naturally, I couldn’t wait to enjoy this again at lunch today.

Water and electronics may not be the best of friends, but this Thai Yellow Curry Sauce and I are on the fast track for BFF necklaces.

Monday Morning Workout

35 minutes elliptical trainer

45 minutes boot camp

Updated 11/18/10: I’ve added this to The Nourishing Gourmet’s Pennywise Platter Thursday. Check it out for other great recipes!

12 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

12 responses to “The Best of Friends, The Worst of Friends

  1. Mark

    A BFF? you mean a BIG FAT FAVOR?!

  2. Starbucks and any sauce from Trader Joes are my BFFs. Fo sho.

  3. i recently bought that curry sauce too – the rest of it is sitting in my freezer, waiting for another day!

  4. I was going to pick up one of those curry sauces today but was worried it would be lacking the authentic Thai curry taste.

  5. LOL Andy’s picture is of me….I should fix that.

  6. Oh no, electronics meeting water is never fun! When I bought my first Macbook I remember proudly going to a Starbucks to do homework and feeling so cool….until I spilled my entire venti carmel latte all over the thing. That bad boy smelled like carmel till the very end.

  7. I loooove that sauce! Your combo looks divine. And that is a HEFTY bag o rice! Also, Andy told me today that he and TJs were BFFs.. and now I see it here. He means serious business!

  8. Laura @Backstage Pass

    Mmm, curry. Looks great!

  9. Holy Moly that is a big bag of rice! I’m with you.. Today was a large latte from CB day.

  10. Pingback: Black Balls | Kaitlin With Honey

  11. Pingback: Chicken Fried Rice | Kaitlin With Honey

  12. Pingback: Dough Balls | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

