The Club Can’t Even Handle Me Right Now

It’s Amanda‘s fault, really.

On the Saturday night of the Foodbuzz Festival, under the influence of good friends, good food and good wine, Amanda was feeling especially fun and silly and kept saying “the club can’t even handle me right now.” Pretty much ever since, I’ve been obsessed with this song.

I am responsible for roughly half of that video’s YouTube views. I’ve had that song on repeat all morning. Oh, well. At least it’s a break from the Christmas music I’ve already entirely immersed myself in.

That’s a lie. Now that I brought up Christmas music, I have officially switched back to my Pandora Christmas station.

I have such a problem.

This is a fairly food-free post (as many have been lately… hmm…), as I went out for drinks last night and just went home afterward and made one egg with a piece of toast.

Exciting.

However, the drinks were especially exciting because I was meeting up with a friend I hadn’t seen since middle school! We found each other on Twitter and realized we were living in the same city, so we made plans. Ahh, the powers of social media.

Anyway, I was definitely only capable (or desiring) of having one beer (a Napa Wheat) last night, so waking up bright and early this morning for the gym was no biggie. The strength class I took was one of the hardest I’ve taken in a while. It was pretty high intensity for a strength class! (Read: I loved it.)

I haven’t been craving smoothies all that often lately, given the cooler weather, but there was no question in my mind this morning that I’d be having a SIAB for breakfast. It just felt right.

Enter: a new take on the Mocha Coconut “Frapp” smoothie.

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 heaping tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 scoop Jay Robb’s Chocolate Egg White Protein Powder
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 packet instant coffee
  • 1 capful coconut extract

On top:

  • ~3/4 tbs warmed coconut butter
  • big handful Shredded Oats

The egg white protein powder was new to me, as Mark let me try his, and I liked it a lot. I don’t know if I would personally purchase an egg white protein powder, though, considering how much protein I get from eggs otherwise. I think whey protein powders might be best for me.

Since I used chocolate protein powder, there was no need for added cocoa today, which meant that the smoothie maintained a green color, which somehow always makes me feel a little healthier. It’s all in my head, obviously. I know the spinach is there whether the smoothie is green or not.

Tuesday Morning Workout

5 minutes elliptical trainer warm-up

45 minutes strength training

35 minutes elliptical trainer (30 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

What song is stuck in your head this morning?

8 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

8 responses to “The Club Can’t Even Handle Me Right Now

  1. confession time: I bought that song this AM and listened to it. I also downloaded Ke$ha (hides face in shame).

  2. Jen

    I busted out my Christmas music CD’s on November 1st πŸ™‚ I embrace the spirit!

    Jen

  3. BEST title of a blog post EVER!

    Jay Robb’s protein powders are fantastic. I love their pina colada whey the most. I use it all the time!

  4. hilarious. i love amanda. and you!

  5. I definitely do that. At least a million of the views on Chris Brown’s “Deuces” video are from me. Except I was also trying to mimic the dance moves πŸ™‚

    I also obsessively listen to Kid Cudi on repeat. Erase Me, Man on the Moon… both have been playing non-stop for about a month now.

  6. Oh I love to spin to that song!

    Yummy looking smoothie.

    Email coming tonight – sorry work ate me whole and just now spit me out. πŸ˜‰

  7. Pingback: Black Balls | Kaitlin With Honey

  8. I’ve been rocking out to F*** You by Cee Lo Green. I got hooked on the edited radio verion (Forget You) and I’ve been stuck on it ever since.

    And I’m listening to Christmas music too…..I just haven’t admitted out loud yet.

Leave a Reply

