I Saw The Sign

…and it opened up my eyes, I saw the sign…

Anyone?

How ’bout now?

Today was the first time I ever saw that video. Wow. Somebody please confirm for me that this is the real video, because it is EPIC. I am proud to have it on my blog.

Okay, enough procrastinating my point…

I was looking for a sign to see if I could run the Turkey Trot next week, and I guess I got it. Unfortunately, it wasn’t quite the sign I was hoping for. I felt noticeable pain in my achilles tendon when jogging in place at boot camp this morning. Pain I haven’t felt in about two weeks. I don’t know why the pain has returned, but I do know that I’m definitely not happy about it.

As of right now, the plan is to try a small test run this weekend and see how it goes. I’ll admit, though, I don’t have high hopes. I’m thinking this probably means I can’t run the race next week. Because I’m stubborn and can’t fully admit this to myself (or you) yet, I’m not making any absolute declarations. However, I am starting to realize that I will most likely eventually decide not to run the race. Time is, in case you haven’t noticed, kind of running out.

Sigh.

Anyway, I had a very simple dinner last night of roasted veggies and chicken, but it was made special by the addition of Garlic Gold nuggets (!!).

I just got some Garlic Gold samples in the mail and I was so, so excited to try them. I’ll write more about them after I’ve tried some more of the samples. 🙂

I drizzled some broccoli, cauliflower, carrots and onions with EVOO and sprinkled the mix with Garlic Gold nuggets, salt, pepper, and grated parmesan & romano. I then roasted it all at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes. Normally, I’d roast them for longer, but… I was hungry. I also warmed up some pre-cooked grilled chicken (from TJ’s, obviously) and threw the heated chicken into the roasted veggies.

So simple and so full of flavor. So far, I’m a huge fan of those nuggets!

Breakfast this morning, post-frustrating-workout, was a yogurt parfait on-the-go.

Fortunately, Mark’s been saving all of his nearly-empty peanut butter jars for me (and trust me, he goes through a lot.) Unfortunately, they don’t make for the most photogenic containers. I was also in such a rush this morning that I didn’t try very hard to make it pretty.

Into the mix went:

  • 3/4 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp pumpkin butter (mixed into the yogurt to create pumpkin yogurt – awesome)
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax
  • 2 big strawberries, sliced
  • 1/8 cup blueberries
  • 1/3 pear, chopped
  • the tiny amount of PB in the jar (maybe 1/2 tsp?)

As soon as I took those pictures, I ran out the door because my car and I had an appointment. As a result, this funny-looking parfait was consumed at the auto shop while my car was being inspected. I may have looked a little crazy to the other people at the shop, but I was okay with it.

Wednesday Morning Workout

35 minutes elliptical trainer

45 minutes boot camp

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “I Saw The Sign

  1. Kaitlin, you’re obs too young to have been regaled by the awesomeness of Ace of Base in its heyday. But, glad you brought it back to the forefront, haven’t thought of that song in 20 years! All that she wants la-la-la-la (now stuck in my head)… 🙂

  2. I e-mailed you the Gobble Wobble info if you’re interested. I am trying to talk myself into it.

Leave a Reply

