Cake for Breakfast

Last night, I got to see a friend who lives in the same city as me but who has a drastically different schedule from mine. Therefore, it was very exciting to get to meet up with her for dinner last night. Almost as exciting was that she suggested we try out Fresh Bites, a new restaurant with a menu “focusing on fresh, natural and organic ingredients.” Um, okay! I’m there!

Though the food didn’t absolutely blow me away, it was still very good (and fresh, for sure) and I certainly still managed to clean my plate. The things that did blow me away were the staff (totally friendly), the environment (clean, modern, open) and the little touches (like bringing plates of cookies to everyone’s table, for free, at the end of the meal – best way to win me over, ever).

I got a half turkey and brie sandwich with a cup of chicken and rice soup.

In case you can’t tell, that is some cup of soup. And the sandwich? Totally big enough to be considered a whole sandwich.

The cookies, though?


Oh, those cookies. Mouth-watering. Seriously, the free cookie was the best part of my meal. And not even just because it was free (though that would make me like something better).

I will definitely be going back. Oh, and it’s also right next to another LA health(ier) food favorite of mine, Veggie Grill!

My workout this morning was tough, and not because it was a particularly grueling workout or anything, but because my heart just wasn’t in it. I should have known when I woke up feeling groggy (abnormal for me) and took almost twice the time to get ready for the gym. However, I guess I’m glad I got the workout in.

I mean, unless you injure yourself, it’s hard to regret a workout.

Words of inspiration, right here, kids. I’m here all day.

(Kind of literally.)

I want to get to my epic breakfast, but first… let me just get lunch out of the way because, while yummy, it was leftovers. Homemade Chicken Fried Rice.

Anyway! Breakfast this morning, if I do say so myself, was pretty freaking great.

I had… wait for it…

Carrot Cake Oatmeal


Yea. If you just said “OMG,” I totally get it.

This was inspired by Lea of Healthy Coconut (a fellow LA blogger!) and, ever since I read about her version, I hadn’t been able to stop dreaming up how I’d make mine.

So, this is how I made mine.

Into the mix went:

  • 1 packet Coach’s Oats (sent as a sample… can’t wait to write about these guys!)
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 capful pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 capful coconut extract
  • 1/3 cup grated carrots
  • 1/3 cup frozen pineapple
  • 3-ish dashes Splenda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves

On top:

  • ~3/4 tbs coconut butter
  • ~1 tbs walnut pieces
  • ~1 tbs raisins
  • ~10 white chocolate chips (I added these halfway in – genius, by the way – so they’re unpictured)

These flavors all worked so well together. The coconut butter, naturally, was the best part.

See, now aren’t you glad I ended with that? So pretty.

Thursday Morning Workout

5 minutes elliptical trainer warmup

45 minutes strength training

35 minutes stationary bike

9 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

9 responses to “Cake for Breakfast

  1. Any place that offers free cookies is a winner in my book.

  2. The place you mentioned for dinner sounds like this amazing place that is near us called Natural Cafe. Except their food is super amazing OMG so good. We should hit it up ASAP.

    Carrot cake anything makes me happy.

  3. love it! i have been wanting to make a carrot cake inspired bowl of oats since seeing lea’s post as well.

  4. Carrot cake oats?!!! YUM! I haven’t had oatmeal in months and this makes me want them.

  5. Your carrot cake oatmeal sounds great. I have a sample of coach’s oats that I might have to use this recipe for! Thanks!

  6. cake for breakfast is the best! that soup looks super tasty, too!

  7. Yummy oatmeal cake Kaitlin. Why did I not add coconut to mine? Looks so good. I will definitely be making some chocolate and coconut version soon.

  8. Um yeah, I’m totally gonna have to try this now!

  9. Pingback: Giveaway Time (And a Tribute to Oats) | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

