Dough Balls

I love Fridays.

Well, I have a love-hate relationship with them. I love the promise of the weekend but I hate that Fridays seem to last twice as long as any other day.

In other news, I made dough balls last night.

Yes, mom, dough balls. So many balls this week.

(TWSS.)

I made them from Mama Pea’s recipe, which was inspired by the Annie the Baker cookies that I can’t stop thinking about. As Mama Pea would say, Oh. My. Peas.

I’d be a bad friend if I didn’t tell you to make them immediately.

And I don’t like being a bad friend.

However, I’d also be a bad friend if I didn’t tell you that you might want to plan on wearing stretchy pants the next day. 😉

Totally worth it.

My workout this morning, by the way, was awesome. I almost didn’t go to the gym (just wasn’t feeling it again – what’s wrong with me?), but then class kicked my ass and my elliptical workout was especially fun because, as I tweeted, I was doing some movie producing from the machine.

How very Hollywood.

Last night’s dinner was majorly simple and was also a clean-the fridge kind of deal. A sliced zucchini, grilled chicken, onion, a dollop of nonfat, plain greek yogurt and the new love of my life, TJ’s Thai Yellow Curry Sauce. Be still my heart.

This afternoon’s lunch was similar: the rest of the leftovers of the Chicken Fried Rice.

Breakfast, however, was a different story. It was a new flavor combination and I’m a little bit in love right now.

Cherry Peach Smoothie

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup + 1 tbs unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 heaping tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 packet Cherries Jubiliee protein powder (big fan)
  • 2/3 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen peaches

On top:

  • 2/3 tbs warmed coconut butter
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax

Oh, by the way, another reason I love Fridays?

You know the answer.

Come on.

Here, I’ll give you a (blunt) hint.

Coffee Bean Friiiiday!

Today I got a Candy Cane Tea Latte. Soy. NSA. Half-Flavor.

I am so high maintenance.

I was also presented with one of these:

I have three words for you:

1. Salted.

2. Caramel.

3. Cupcake.

AMAZING.

The cupcake was from Blue Cupcake, by the way. I made sure to find out.

At first, I could only do this much damage to it:

But then, once the camera was all packed away, Lauren came over and, with her help, I managed to do a little more damage. 😉

Oof.

Sugar. Coma.

Happy Friday, my friends!

Friday Morning Workout

5 minutes elliptical trainer warmup

45 minutes ass-kicking boot camp (seriously, I sweat through my clothes)

35 minutes elliptical trainer

8 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

8 responses to “Dough Balls

  1. I can’t stop thinking about those cookies too! Thanks for posting the link!

  2. i’m so jealous of your sweets! i could use both of things in my dessert menu tonight!

  3. I can’t wait to see you later today!

    I made those doughballs and they didn’t last in my house. I used mini reese’s cups. So good!

    Sounds like you got an awesome workout. I’m so overdue for a workout, it’s not even funny.

  4. Ok. I am ordering Annie the Baker cookies asap. I feel like its totally going to be my finals fuel! And oh my goodness, salted caramel cup cake. Swoon.

  5. Your balls turned out perfect! And I love that honey almond flax cereal with all my heart. Have a fun weekend! XOXO

  6. Laura @Backstage Pass

    You made the balls! I may attempt to make them today, via The Chic Life recipe.
    Smoothie looks great! I have to try out that Cherries Jubilee powder, it sounds tasty.

  7. Jen

    Yummmm…balls.
    I’m not sure I’m strong enough to make them and keep them in the house, but soon I will indulge!

    Jen

  8. These dough balls are becoming really popular! I can’t wait to make myself a batch of them. But I will share them with my coworkers, otherwise I would eat them all myself. My unhealthy habit!

Leave a Reply

