Begrudging Rest Day

As I write this, I am going back and forth between the blog post and my gchat because I am currently deeply analyzing the newest Harry Potter movie with my friend Andrew, a fellow Harry Potter (book series) fan. There is definitely something to be said for having friends with similar interests as you. Andrew and I both love the book series, both went to film school, and have many similar but also some vastly different views on the book series and how it could have been better portrayed on film.

Because I love the series, because I love Harry Potter so much, and because I’m really enjoying the intellectual discussion Andrew and I are having, I really feel the need to basically watch all of the movies in the next few days. Including watching the one in theaters… again.

This is how I work. Thank goodness Thanksgiving vacation is about to afford me some free time.

Anyway, I was smart this morning and begrudgingly (as in, only after calling my mom at 6am so she’d force me to be smart) decided not to go to the gym. A clicking knee, I realized, is probably not something to mess with.

I didn’t skip boot camp happily, but I skipped it. Life goes on.

So, rather than starting my day at the gym, I started the day with a bowl of overnight oats. However, I wasn’t so into them this morning. I found myself craving hot oatmeal instead. Maybe this dish is a summer one for me?

Into the mix (last night) went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/3 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • tsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tbs ground blueberry flax seed
  • dash Splenda
  • 2 dashes cinnamon

On top (this morning):

In other news, thanks to Katherine, I haven’t been able to stop listening to Kanye this afternoon. Anybody else loving this song?

I brought my own lunch today, but I kind of couldn’t help myself from passing it over when I learned we were being visited by a falafel food truck today.

You guys know how I love me some falafel.

Enter: the Yalla truck.

I got the Yalla (Classic), minus the onion salad. Gross. I hate raw onions.

It was definitely good, but it was also a very different presentation of falafel than I’m used to.  The actual falafel was great, as were the salads with it, but the pickled turnips were a bit much for me. Way too salty. I ended up taking them off after one bite.

Truth be told, though, I don’t think I like pickled anything.

Well, except pickles.

This was a good food truck experience because the pita was not only pretty healthy, but it was also totally filling. I felt great afterward, which is more than I can say for my experiences after eating from some other food trucks. I didn’t finish the entire pita, either (though I came close) and didn’t end up needing a snack today… which is kind of unheard of for me.

I always want a snack!

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to “Begrudging Rest Day

  1. Sometimes overnight oats are way better than a gym session.

  2. Claire

    I’ll try not to be widely jealous of you and Andrew discussing the movie without me. We’ll have that conversation soon. Don’t think we won’t.

  3. Harry Potter conversations are my absolute favorite. Since Andy hasn’t read the books, I reread them and talk about them in depth with him. I’m a nerd. I might as well read the whole series out loud to him.

  4. Ha! I love that I inspired Kanye listening. I’ve listened to the entire CD twice and I’m working on my third round between classes. And also I cosign your HP addiction. Thinking of using my found time on Wednesday to see it again!

  5. I hear really good things about the new Kayne CD, I will have to give it a listen today.

    Love your Harry Potter plans! I am contemplating rereading the series, but we shall see. I have another stack of books that I still need to work on.

Leave a Reply

