Running Hits & Misses

I ran again this weekend.

I wish I could have used exclamation points there, and I would have yesterday, but I’m afraid I’ve just gone and replaced one problem with another.

I’ll get back to that in a minute, though.

First, let me rave about this place called Runnergy, which is a running store in Sherman Oaks, CA.

I am in love with this place. For those of you in LA, I highly recommend you go there next time you need new running shoes. I was helped by this totally sweet girl named Aurora and I can honestly say that I was given more time, attention and help there than I ever have with any of the doctors I’ve found out here in LA.

Aurora measured my feet, watched my walking stride to see how my feet fell, listened to my concerns, and had me try on about five pairs of carefully selected shoes. Once the shoes were on, she felt for how my feet fit into them and would only have me go onto the next step if she thought they were a good fit. Once the shoes passed that test, she had me run in them on the treadmill to see how they fit.

Though I’ve been a New Balance customer forever and came close to choosing another pair of New Balance sneakers while there, I ended up falling in love with a pair of Pumas. It was kind of like the whole Cinderella’s slipper thing. Once they were on, I just knew I’d found my shoes.

Can I also just say that I left Runnergy with a runner’s high from the five-ish minutes of running I ended up doing while testing shoes? It was amazing.

That was Saturday evening. As the night went on, even though my runner’s high, I started to notice that my left knee was clicking every time I walked up the stairs. I decided my body was just getting used to me running again and wasn’t too concerned. After all, my achilles tendon wasn’t bothering me at all after the run, and the clicking didn’t hurt… it was just there. I figured a test run in the shoes was in order and would probably loosen up my joints and that the clicking would disappear after the run.

So, on Sunday morning, I fueled up with a piece of toast with cinnamon raisin peanut butter on top…

… and, after digesting, I headed to the track. No hills for me. I wanted flat, even terrain.

I was equally excited and nervous to run.

I ran two glorious miles, and I’ll say this: while I am certainly out of the running shape I was in, I wasn’t as out of it as I thought I might be. The two miles were harder than they were a month ago and I definitely couldn’t have done the five I was knocking out on a regular basis back then, but I also didn’t have to stop to walk or even slow down.

It was great. I had a blast. I was grinning ear to ear when it was over.

But the grinning kind of stopped when I started walking up stairs again and realized how very prominent the clicking still was.

Sadly, the clicking is still very much there and I’ve made an appointment with my orthopedic surgeon for tomorrow.

It felt so good to be back and I’m really hoping this clicking is a small and temporary thing.

Am I crazy to hope I can still run a 5K on Thanksgiving?

9 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

9 responses to “Running Hits & Misses

  1. Good for you making the appointment. Hopefully it’s an easy fix. I ran 2 miles today and my knees felt tired. Not totally painful but not great either. I’m going to do some of the knee exercises and foam rolling that my PT suggested and try again on Wednesday. I wish I was in town so I could run the 5k with you. I think you will totally be able to do it.

    The shoes are soooooo cute. I am obsessed with all things purple. I’m almost due for new shoes. I’ve had mine since April.

  2. Heard you are looking for me, just emailed you!

  3. One of my soccer teammates in college always had a clicking in her knee (or her ankle?) It was one of the two and it always happened, it was just there. No injuries, no problem, just a noise. That said, it’s smart of you to get it checked out. Just wanted to give you some hope 🙂

  4. Ah, rad shoes! My husband is obsessed w/ Puma (he even has a Puma tattoo) and he once bought me a pair of their running shoes. Since I overpronate, I ended up with tendinitis from the shoes. Too bad for me, because Pumas are so stylish. But it’s all about comfort. Glad you found a good pair for your feet!

  5. Sweet purple shoes. Hope the doc visit goes well!

  6. So sorry to hear about the clicking issue! Hopefully the doctor appt sheds some light on how to handle the situation.

  7. Pingback: Two Boos, Porto’s and The Deathly Hallows | Kaitlin With Honey

  8. Pingback: Kaitlin With Rehab | Kaitlin With Honey

  9. Pingback: HAPPY November! | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

