Two Boos, Porto’s and The Deathly Hallows

You know you’re starting your weekend off right when you start it with a bowl of oats after sleeping in until almost 9:30. I never sleep that late, but I’ve been kind of lacking in the sleep department lately and wanted to let my body sleep as long as possible.

Thus, I felt beautifully well rested when I enjoyed this bowl of oats.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup frozen peaches
  • dash Splenda
  • 2 dashes cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg

On top:

  • tsp Nutzo peanut butter (I love the crunch!)
  • tsp coconut butter
  • tsp Crofter’s Morello Cherry spread

But, other than finding my new running shoes and subsequently running two miles, the best part of this weekend was meeting up for lunch with the Two Boos Who Eat, Andy and Amanda.

Are they cute, or what? It’s such an incredible bonus to blogging that it has afforded me the opportunity to make two such wonderful friends.

We met at Porto’s Bakery in Burbank, which is a fairly famous Cuban restaurant/ bakery. Not only is it delicious, but it’s also ridiculously inexpensive!

It’s also always packed, if you need any proof beyond my word that it’s amazing.

Those pictures don’t even do it justice. Believe me when I say it’s almost always kind of overwhelmingly busy.

I started, as one must (if one is a meat eater, of course), with a potato ball.

I don’t usually crave meat – I often eat a vegetarian diet without even meaning to – but this weekend, I was craving meat, and lots of it! (TWSS). So, I ordered something I’ve never ordered from Porto’s before: their famous Cubano sandwich.

That slow-roasted port hit the spot. I was definitely not sorry, as that sandwich was delicious. Plus, Andy and Amanda each ordered the same thing, so I knew it was a good call!

I was only ate half of the sandwich, since I’d just enjoyed the potato ball. Good thing, too, as it made a great lunch-on-the-go the next day!

The second half of that sandwich was consumed en route to see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I, which I was a little more than excited to see.


(source)

For a movie snack, I enjoyed one of my Foodbuzz Festival swag items: 479 Degrees Black Truffle & White Cheddar popcorn.

Though I’m not the biggest fan of the taste of black truffle oil, I still like this bag of popcorn. I was, however, a bigger fan of their sweeter offerings at the Taste Pavilion.

Anyway, I’m kind of obsessed with Harry Potter. I don’t love the movies, but I’m basically devoted to the books in a sort of unhealthy way. Still, I did really enjoy this movie – more than I thought I would, actually. I find myself getting frustrated when liberties are taken with the story, but I do understand most of the choices made by the filmmakers.

In very important news, I have a major crush on Ron. Also on the twins. Major.

Any other huge Harry Potter fans out there?

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

7 responses to “Two Boos, Porto’s and The Deathly Hallows

  1. Yup, I plan on watching the movie, but I’m going to wait a little bit. I know, I know, that’s not what a real fan would do. My friends went this weekend, and one even bought a Gryffindor scarf for the occasion.

  2. actorsdiet

    loooove HP. next blogger meetup – UNIVERSAL STUDIOS FLORIDA!

    can’t wait to see all 3 of you next weekend 🙂

  3. Yesss! I cosign that next blogger meet up comment!

    Also, I love you TWSS jokes.

  4. I am totally obsessed with Harry Potter and am so glad you are a fan too! Makes me so happy!

    Porto’s was awesome I would like to go back.

  5. I love the Harry Potter books too!

    I only started reading them shortly before Book 7 came out. I remember after Book 6, I stayed up for a couple of extra hours crying over Dumbledore. Then I got really mad at Rowling for leaving so many loose ends that there was no way she could unravel in Book 7. But she DID! I was so impressed and happy.

    I am possibly about to re-read them (can’t decide if I should do that before or after I watch the last movie).

Leave a Reply

