Turkey Trot Recap

I did it!!!

This race, looming over my head throughout the worst of both achilles tendonitis and runner’s knee, has kind of been a sore spot for me. I honestly didn’t know if I was going to do it until the moment I started running.

Though it was most definitely a tough race for me, having only run once (last Sunday) for over a month and given two different injuries, but I still felt amazing crossing the finish line… even though it was a 5K instead of the original 10K for which I had signed up.

Mark and I got to the race site at about 7:15 am (the race started at 8am) and grabbed my bib and chip.

I was 135. πŸ™‚

And then we had some time to kill before the race started, so we took some pictures and walked around a bit.

The YMCA also hosted a pre-race stretching session (this was actually the first time I’d seen anything like this before a race), so I joined in for a few minutes.

Soon, it was time to start lining up.

This race had very little fuss. We lined up, a few words were said to the crowd, and the race just… began!

As I was running, I kept it pretty slow and steady. I had absolutely no desire to push for a time (I mean, I hadn’t exactly been training) or to push beyond that which I was capable. I paid a lot of attention to how my achilles tendon and knee were feeling, but I really felt fine. Actually, the only things that bugged me were the cramp I got in my side (oh, boy, could I tell I had lost some of my running shape) and the stomach ache I got from eating breakfast.

This 5K alsoΒ  certainly drove home the importance of training (not that I ever doubted it).

But no stomach ache or slower pace were going to stop me from enjoying the fact that I was running the Turkey Trot!

Before I knew it, the race was almost over. Even though the 3.1 miles were kind of tough for me, I was still surprised at how short they felt in comparison to how long a 10K feels.

Soon, I had reached the finish line. Here I come!


Woohoo!

After the race, I made a beeline for the bananas. I needed potassium for the cramp in my side!

We didn’t hang around the expo for long, as there wasn’t much to see and we were eager to get home and start our Thanksgiving cooking, but I did take the time to grab some swag.

This race was a really special one for me, despite it being tough. First of all, the mental struggle leading up to this race made the satisfaction of completing it so much greater. Second of all, it was so exciting to have someone with me. This was the first time I had a friend come to a race just to watch and support me. Finally, it was an interesting race in that, though there were a handful of professional runners, it felt more like a community event than an athletic one. There were people of all shapes, sizes, ages and fitness levels. Plus, there were dogs and little kids!

Oh, and don’t you worry; I immediately followed the race with lots of stretching and icing.

The Turkey Trot was a great way to start Thanksgiving and I certainly plan to continue this tradition. πŸ™‚

12 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

12 responses to “Turkey Trot Recap

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you were able to do it, Kaitlin! πŸ™‚

  2. Great work on the race!

  3. actorsdiet

    you go girl! i’ll see ya tomorrow!

  4. Congrats on the race, girl!
    Running on Thanksgiving morning sounds pretty awesome to me πŸ™‚

  5. Congrats on the run! What a great way to start the holiday!

  6. i’m glad you finished the 5k and kept a good attitude about it! i think that is the best part about a race, the mentality of just simply doing it!

    and you’ve never had someone there to spectate!? tell me next time and i’ll surely come out to watch and cheer!

  7. Ben

    major major major props to you Kaitlin!

  8. Great job getting up and doing this on Thanksgiving! And I am glad to hear that your knee did well throughout the whole thing!

  9. Pingback: Kaitlin With Rehab | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

