Thanksgiving Feast

Every year for the past few years, I’ve attended something my friends and I fondly call “Orphan Thanksgiving.” It’s a tradition that began when we were in grad school together, when it was too expensive or didn’t make enough sense to travel across the country (as many of us attending this Thanksgiving dinner are east coasters) for such a short holiday.

Over the years, it’s changed and grown, but at its heart, the Orphan Thanksgiving is always the same. It’s a bunch of people who have made friends their family.


Everybody has a different specialty in the kitchen (or, if not, in the wine or cheese shops), so we always have a huge feast. This year was no different.

While the final preparations were in place, we all gathered around the cheese plates.

Soon, however, it was time to dig into all of the delicious offerings.

The meal was served buffet style, so we all lined up, basically drooling in anticipation of the meal ahead.

My plate:

Turkey, Cranberry Sauce, Stuffing, Macaroni and Cheese, Green Bean Casserole, Mashed Potatoes, Sweet Potato Casserole.

Everything was impossibly good. I kept it to one plate, somehow, but I completely and totally cleaned that one plate.

I also enjoyed it with a few glasses of Chardonnay (throughout the evening).

As great as the meal was, the company was even better.

Dessert was enjoyed a bit later (and after a viewing of about half of a Harry Potter movie). I tried both the homemade pumpkin pie and the homemade banana pudding. That banana pudding sent me straight to heaven.

The made-ugly-by-flash-and-eagerness-to-eat pictures do it absolutely no justice. Oh, that banana pudding. I could also eat that every day for the rest of my life.

The evening was filled with wonderful friends, delicious food and lots of laughter.

A pretty perfect Thanksgiving, if you ask me.

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

3 responses to “Thanksgiving Feast

  1. Thanks for sharing your Turkey Trot experience. Next weekend I’m running the Santa Shuffle here in Ottawa and this will be my first run! I’m a little nervous but hearing everyone’s accounts of Turkey Trots is easing my anxiety 😛

  2. What a lovely Thanksgiving! You are so lucky to have made such great friends despite the distance from home! 🙂

  3. Pingback: HAPPY November! | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

