Thanksgiving, Take Two

So, I was one of those lucky people who had not one, but two Thanksgiving celebrations. The second, on Saturday, was similarly themed to the first: “Friends as Family Thanksgiving.” It was hosted by my friends Amy and James.

The table settings were absolutely stunning. Their apartment looked so beautiful… you know, the way adult dinner parties look! I think this was the first truly adult dinner party I’ve ever attended that wasn’t held by my parents.

This too was a potluck, so I brought both an appetizer and a side dish.  The appetizer was particularly exciting for me because I was able to share a gift! Remember, back at the Foodbuzz Festival, how I got a bunch of jams and preserves in the foodie gift exchange from Ashlee and Lewis? Well, this was the perfect opportunity to break them out!

I brought the pear preserves, apple butter and blackberry jam to enjoy with blueberry goat cheese, organic crackers and a french baguette.

They offered an instantly gourmet but totally easy to prepare appetizer!

I particularly enjoyed the combination of the baguette with the cheese and blackberry jam – a perfect mix of sweet and savory.


The main event, of course, was once again mind-blowing. There was so much to eat and so much to choose from, so I just had a few bites of… just about everything!

My plate:

Turkey, Cranberry Sauce, Mashed Potatoes, Stuffing, Green Bean Casserole, Butternut Squash with Apples, Maple Brussels Sprouts (my side dish offering – again, recipe to come!) and Scalloped Potatoes.

Yum.

Followed by pecan pumpkin pie with a little vanilla ice cream on the side.

Again, the company was phenomenal.

The night ended with the traditional breaking of the wishbone…

… and the less traditional game of “Killer Bunnies.”


It was another beautiful night to remember.

I hope you all had wonderful Thanksgivings as well! If you’re a fellow blogger, please feel free to leave a link to your Thanksgiving posts – I’d love to read them!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “Thanksgiving, Take Two

  1. Goat cheese and preserves look so good! I had that on Thanksgiving as well 🙂

  2. Yay! I am glad you liked the jams! The blackberry is my favorite too!

Leave a Reply

