Headache-Be-Gone

I am officially migraine-free today!

Thank. Goodness.

I was so happy to wake up this morning without any traces of a headache. I got all ready in my workout gear and hit the gym. I was supposed to run this morning, but I just wasn’t feeling it. I think it’s probably because my muscles have had a few days off from my regular workout schedule. I ran on Thursday for the Turkey Trot and took a spinning class on Saturday morning, but Sunday and yesterday were workout-free and this morning I just didn’t feel right for running. So, given how many issues I’ve had with running lately, I decided not to push anything. I kept it simple with a strength class and a stint on the elliptical.

Plus, it was really cold this morning! I live in Los Angeles. I’d forgotten what 35 (ish) degrees felt like.

I came back and made a warm, Thanksgiving-inspired bowl of oats.

And, actually, these oats were especially exciting because they were made with a new kind of oats: Coach’s Oats! A few months back, when I thought I disliked hot oats (my, how times have changed), my friend Jessie suggested that I try these oats out. I contacted the company and told them that I wanted to give their oats a try, and they sent me a bunch!

Quick disclaimer: though I got these products for free, my opinions are my own!

I really like these oats. They’re not mushy or bland, but instead have some chew and texture to them and taste almost nutty.

Plus, I really like the name. It reminds me of Coach Taylor from Friday Night Lights. They even use Panther colors. Coincidence? I’d like to think not. 😉

I’m talking about the show, not the movie.

Of course.

Check out what the oats look like in water before they’re cooked:

Because of their process, the oats have the texture of steel cut oats but the quick-cooking convenience of rolled oats. The best of both worlds, right?

I’ve tried them plain, with a few different ingredients, their way (as instructed on the packet) and my way (as in, the water: almond milk: oats ratio I usually use), as I like to try products a few times before sharing with them. This morning, I made them my way and as pumpkin oats and topped them with my leftover Thanksgiving Cranberry Sauce and a sprinkle of walnuts.

Into the mix went:

  • 1 packet Coach’s Oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 heaping tbs canned pumpkin
  • ~1/2 tbs Splenda
  • a few dashes cinnamon
  • capful pure vanilla extract
  • dash nutmeg

On top:

Lunch was a slightly less exciting affair. Leftovers of the soup from last night, which wasn’t any better today than it was yesterday.

However, the heat of the soup was oh-so-welcome, as the heat in the office still isn’t working.

Bah. I’m freeeeeezing.

One last thing… check this video out. A guy wrote this song with the intention of it secretly getting to his girlfriend (who just moved away), but organically through social media…. of which I’m a part, so here we go!

So. Cool.

Tuesday Morning Workout

5 minutes elliptical trainer warmup

45 minutes strength training class

35 minutes elliptical trainer (30 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “Headache-Be-Gone

  1. ohhh…35 in LA eh?! it was 21 this morning for me! come up here and i’ll show you cold! haha!

  2. Love the video. Very romantic 😛

    Those thanksgiving oats look yummy. I might have to try. We’re on our third snow day here. It appears that the UK grinds to a halt after 1 inch of snow, and we’ve got 2 ft! 😀

  3. wow that video is ridiculously awesome!

  4. Oh Coach T……the things I would do to his hotness. He is so gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

