Sweet Potato Muffins

So, I already shared one of my mom’s famous Thanksgiving recipes with you.

Now I’m going to share another, because I can’t get enough of my family’s cooking. This recipe has been passed at least between my mom and my grandma, and I’m assuming others in my family have used it as well. My sister, currently in New Zealand, even just made them for her own Thanksgiving across the world.

The way my family makes these muffins has always been delicious, but they have also always been very buttery. In fact, my mom told me that she has long suspected that the recipe has twice as much butter as is necessary.

So, naturally, I then cut the amount of butter in half. Everything else remains untouched from the recipe my mom sent me. They were still delicious, post butter-cutting. In fact, I’d argue that they’re better… because… well, this way you can eat them without getting a stomach ache. 😉

Also, we didn’t have any canned sweet potatoes and were running out of time, so this year they were made with pumpkin at the KWH house. For the record, that works as well. However, I think they’re better with sweet potato.

Sweet Potato Muffins

makes about 2-3 dozen mini-muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups canned mashed sweet potatoes
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup milk (we used 2%)
  • 1/4 cup walnuts or pecans, chopped
  • 1/2 cup raisins

Directions:

Grease (a) mini-muffin pan(s).

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs and mix well.

Add sweet potatoes (or, in our case, pumpkin) and blend well.

Sift in flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Add alternatively with milk. Do not overmix.

Fold in raisins and nuts.

Fill muffin tin(s) 2/3 full and bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.

Good news: they freeze well, too.

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

One response to “Sweet Potato Muffins

Leave a Reply

