Got My Foodzie Box!

I have to say, if I do say so myself (and I do), I can be pretty skilled in the kitchen.

This Hearty Minestrone Stew that I made last night (recipe to come this weekend!) is kind of fantastic. It’s a stick-to-your ribs, warm-you-right-up kind of meal. And, just hours after finishing lunch, I’m craving it again.

I had actually been kind of toying with the idea of getting lunch from the food truck at the office today, as it was a taco truck and I’ve had a craving for tacos ever since I had the best taco of my life at the Foodbuzz Festival Food Fare, but then I realized how much I was looking forward to the lunch I’d packed.


I’m so glad I stuck with it! Plus, it was perfect for warming me up. I’m a little chilly in the office today.

Now, for the main event! I’ve been so excited to show you this all day today. Look what I got in the mail!

Remember that awesome giveaway I did the other day? Well, Foodzie is so wonderful that they gave me a tasting box, too!  If you follow me on twitter, you already knew this… but if  not, I got this package and thought, “Happy Friday to ME!”

Want to see what’s inside?

Of course you do.

Each box comes with five different samples. Foodzie also gives you a card describing each item. I’ll write each one out, below.

1. Alfajores Cookies

MAITELATES/ Ann Harbor, MI

Local Michigan milk is combined with sugar in a copper kettle and transformed into a milk preserve, dulce de leche. The creamy, sweet spread is layered between two buttery shortbread cookies and enrobed in dark chocolate from a local chocolatier.

2. Heriloom Cranberry Beans

ZURSUN BEANS/ Twin Falls, ID

A hearty variety of heirloom beans grown in a small-scale farm in South Central Idaho. Used in Italian, Spanish and Portuguese cuisine, cranberry beans are plump, pale pink with maroon markings. They have a rich, earthy, yet mild flavor.

Also in the box was a recipe in which to use the beans. I’m excited about that too!

3. Bacon Peanut Brittle

THE REDHEAD/ New York, NY

This standout bar snack from an East Village neighborhood restaurant in NYC is more savory than sweet. Crunchy peanuts are tossed lightly with maple syrup, a dash of cayenne, thyme and small chunks of salty, smoky bacon.

4. Parmesan Flatbreads

LITTLE RAGGHI’S/ Ocean City, MD

A simple but addictive cracker topped with a peppery extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, and a sprinkling of exceptionally good Parmesan Cheese. A percentage of each sale goes to the Native American community to celebrate the company’s namesake, Raggatha.

5. Fleur De Sel Caramel Popcorn

479 Degrees Popcorn/ San Francisco, CA

This sweet and salty snack starts with locally-sourced organic heirloom popcorn kernels popped in heavy copper kettles. While it’s still warm, the popcorn is tossed with a buttery organic caramel and delicate, flaky fleur de sel.


I think the content and variety within the box is great and there is literally nothing in it that I am not incredibly excited to try.

In fact, I kind of already got started. You see, it’s Coffee Bean Friday today and I usually consider my latte to be my afternoon snack on Fridays, but the coffees came really late today and, well, the Foodzie box was right in front of me.

Admittedly, I cheated on my own rule about not having sweets this week (except for on Sunday), but I feel okay about it. The Foodzie Tasting Box delivery became a special occasion.

So, I jumped right in with one of the Alfajores cookies.

Y-U-M.

It wasn’t what I expected (somehow I expected something softer?), but it was incredible. I savored it over a few minutes (I’m a really fast eater, so this is crazy for me!) and enjoyed every single crumb. I’m so excited that I have another one, too.

My only complaint about these boxes is that I think they’re a little steeply priced at $19.99/ month.

Oh, and when my NSA Vanilla Soy Latte came, I took a few sips, but it was really too late in the day for me to have caffeine at that point!

But a few sips still made for a CBF. 🙂

Did you celebrate Coffee Bean Friday today?

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “Got My Foodzie Box!

  1. That is a great variety of items! I love that it shares information on where it is from and it feels so local.

  2. Pingback: Catching Up and a Product Review (Clif C Bar) | Healthy Twists

Leave a Reply

