Successful Run

I went on a run this morning! Well, I ran on a treadmill. I figured I’d keep it safe with no potential of hills and with alternative methods of working out nearby, should the running not work out.

Thankfully, it did. My knee bothered me a little, but the pain was minimal and, to be honest, I worry and think less about my knee when I’m running than when I’m doing strength training, boot camp, or the elliptical. Strange, since it’s runner’s knee, but it’s far less noticeable during running than any other workout. In fact, I think it’s strength training that needs to go for a while. Squats and lunges are bad news for me lately.

I came back home and made what I thought would be an awesome bowl of oats, but sadly kind of disappointed. I experimented with adding protein powder to the mix and ended up kind of regretting it.

However, it totally filled me up, grew on me as I was eating it, and still managed to be great due to the toppings. Plus, you know, it was kind of pretty… for a bowl of oats.

Anyway, if you like the taste of protein powder, you may like these a lot.

Chocolate Protein Oats

Into the mix went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/3 cup + 1 tbs unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 scoop Jay Robb’s Chocolate Egg White Protein Powder
  • 1/2 tsp cocoa
  • dash Splenda
  • 1/3 frozen banana, cut into slices

(Actually, I was having trouble cutting or breaking the banana, so I used my teeth. Cute, right?)

On top:

  • 1 tbs Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter
  • pomegranate seeds

I have not been able to get enough of these pomegranate seeds lately! They just burst in your mouth. I think I’m addicted. They, along with the Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter, totally saved the otherwise mediocre oats. Yum.

Friday Morning Workout

5 minute walking warm up on treadmill

3 miles running on treadmill at 5.0 speed, giving me 12:00 minute miles

5 minute walking cool down on treadmill

It felt so good! I always feel so wonderful and happy after a good run… I only wish my joints liked it as much as I do.

Another thing that felt wonderful? A good deed that I did this morning, naturally. As in, I wasn”t even thinking about the 25 Days of Good Deeds for Christmas. That is, of course, the best kind of good deed! It’s funny, because yesterday I confided in a friend that I thought I might have gotten in over my head with the good deeds thing. She suggested that I probably do good deeds every day and don’t even notice, which I agreed with but still worried about upholding. This morning proved that I don’t really have to worry. πŸ™‚

25 Days of Good Deeds, Day 3

As I was walking out of the gym this morning, an elderly woman was having trouble balancing her bags as she made her way to her car. I helped her with her bags and, while we walked, chatted with her about how much we both love the holiday spirit. It made for a wonderful, cheery start to my morning. It also made me miss my grandparents. πŸ™‚

Did you run this morning?

Did you do a good deed without even thinking about it?

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “Successful Run

  1. my knee was the same way! (Well, still is!) I struggle with squats and lunges so I totally avoid them. Which sucks because they are both great lower body moves.

    The Jay Robb whey tastes a little less like protein powder in my opinion. The egg white version is a little chalky.
    My good deed: I helped students study for their test today before class instead of drinking my coffee and relaxing!

  2. Congrats on the run. πŸ™‚ I had a decent one today, too. Just a mile, but I ran it at 7mph which is my fastest thus far.

  3. Kaitlin, loving all the pomegranates you’ve been eating, lol! You and me both are on a POM kick. I ate my POM today with coconut and quinoa πŸ™‚

    See you this weekend.

  4. Maya

    Have you tried quinoa flakes in place of oatmeal? They are only slightly less tasty, but have way more protein, so you could cut back on the protein powder. I can’t eat oats because of gluten sensitivities, but i looove morning oatmeal. Quinoa is amazing.

Leave a Reply

