First December Weekend

As one might expect from a December weekend, I spent the majority of it in holiday preparation. I spent much of Saturday doing a bunch of Christmas shopping, then spent that night baking cookies for the Holiday Cookie Exchange that I was hosting for a few LA bloggers on Sunday afternoon. Naturally, Mark and I spent all of Sunday morning cleaning in preparation for the party. Our apartment has never been so clean!

Friday night was nice because Mark and I went out for Thai food and then spent some time just walking around the downtown area nearby. There were Christmas events going on and there was fun shopping to do. Oh, and I didn’t take pictures of my dinner, but Mark and I split a tofu spring roll appetizer and I got chicken and veggies in yellow curry with brown rice for dinner. I also had a glass of Sauvignon Blanc at the apartment before we walked to the restaurant.

Saturday morning started with a spinning class (I have so quickly become an addict!) and while there, I was hit pretty hard with a craving for a smoothie. I simply could not ignore it, so I went home to make one ASAP.

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 scoop Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey Protein Powder (the last of it!)
  • 1/3 cup frozen pineapple
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/3 cup frozen peaches
  • 1/12 cup orange juice
  • heaping tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt

On top:

  • drizzle melted coconut butter
  • Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax

Totally hit the spot. Lunch was a bit more of an ordeal. I stupidly let myself get both starving and dehydrated while I was on the go with holiday shopping and felt like I was basically about to collapse by the time I finally started thinking about lunch (at something absurd like 3:30pm!). I got pretty discouraged when I saw my options – Baja Fresh, Panda Express, Subway, etc. It’s not that I couldn’t find something passable at those places, but I was so not in the mood for processed food.

And then, like a beacon of light, the clouds parted and I saw this in the distance:

Pretty sure I heard a chorus of “Hallelujah” in my head.

I could not have been happier in that moment. I first headed straight for a bottle of water and opened it right there in the middle of the store (yes, I was that girl), and then I made a beeline for the salad bar to put this together:

Spinach, mixed greens, turkey, peas, broccoli slaw, carrots, 2 falafel balls, hummus, cherry tomatoes, lentil salad and a piece of pineapple. Thankfully, this made my tummy much happier. However, my eyes were bigger than my stomach and I only ended up eating one of those falafel balls. They weren’t that great anyway.

The rest of the night was spent baking. Between the two of us, Mark and I made four different kinds of cookies that night! Our kitchen was busy, busy busy.

I kind of filled up on dough and cookie taste-testing (whoops), but I got in some nutrients by eating some of my Thai food leftovers for dinner. I didn’t actually end up eating much of the chicken, but ate all of the veggies and rice!

As I said, pretty much all of Sunday morning was spent cleaning, so I needed good fuel. Fortunately, I had just recieved an exciting package in the mail!

A big, BIG thank you to Chobani for sending these to me! I am obsessed already.

I started, naturally, with the Pomegranate flavor.

I topped it with the last of my pomegranate seeds, blueberries and Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax.

Lunch was a rushed affair. We’re pretty much all out of fresh food in the apartment (for shame!) but did have some eggs, cheese, and frozen bread. I made scrambled eggs for Mark and me to scarf down right before the party started.

And… you’ll have to wait for details on the party! This post is way too long already. 😉

I’m going to list all three good deeds from Saturday through today right now because I want to make sure I mention today’s good deed ASAP.

25 Days of Good Deeds for Christmas, Day 4

I actually did Saturday’s good deed late on Friday night, but I’m going to go ahead and count it for Saturday. Whenever I see this one homeless man (who is so sweet) out on a street near where I live, I always ask if he’d like anything. Without fail, all he ever asks for is a Tall coffee from Starbucks. So, because I want to give him something with sustenance as well, I always try to order something vaguely nutritious in addition to his requested coffee. This time, I bought him his coffee and a piece of pumpkin bread (it was one of the few things they had left late at night).

25 Days of Good Deeds for Christmas, Day 5

If I’m being honest, I didn’t totally have time to do a good deed yesterday – throwing a party is hard work! So, like I did for Saturday, I’m banking on a simple one from the day before. On Saturday, when I bought a coffee (for myself this time), I left a nice tip for the friendly barista.

25 Days of Good Deeds for Christmas, Day 6

This one is for today and is one I’m really excited to tell you about! I just put out a bid for an item (Julie’s Healthy Homemade Granola, if you’re curious) in Tina’s Holiday Bake Sale. It’s for a good cause and I wholeheartedly encourage you to bid on some yummy items as well! They’re all made by fellow bloggers and I’d be willing to bet they’re all entirely delicious.

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “First December Weekend

  1. thanks for bidding on my granola! i promise to make it with extra love if you win!

  2. you are so sweet, Kaitlin. I love that good deed story. 🙂

    omg you got almost every flavor of Chobani! NICE!

  3. squigglefloey

    I really need to start getting down on my good deeds! I guess I did one for myself (does that count?…) — I took a break from studying for finals and did a few stretches and took a bike ride for 20min, that’s all. Oh! and I helped my roommate figure out how to buy a parking permit, haha

  4. Um box of Chobani at your doorstep?! I have never been more jealous in all my life.

Leave a Reply

