Almond Cinnamon Cookies

Here’s the first (of three) cookie recipe coming from the KWH household from Sunday’s Cookie Exchange.

Though I spent most of the party angry at these cookies, everyone else seemed to like them quite a bit. In fact, once I finally gave them a fair shot, I liked them, too.

Oh, did you want me to actually address how I could be angry at cookies? (Come on, you’ve never been angry at an inanimate object? Weird.) Well, half of them burned. And yes, I know that the fault is technically mine and not that of the cookies (Can cookies really be at fault? This is getting very philosophical.), but I still refused to even look at them for a while. I also only agreed (at Mark’s amused urging) to taste a burnt one (after all, so few were actually left to be presented at the party), so I decided they were bad cookies. Because, you know, they tasted burnt. Thus, I hid them in the corner of the cookie table at the party and almost didn’t tell people about them.

Take that, cookies.

Anyway, when I finally tasted a correctly baked cookie toward the end of the cookie exchange, I was pleasantly surprised. I mean, first off, the drizzle is fun. But, more importantly, they taste great. They’re harder than my usual kind of cookie, which gave them a nice bite.  They kind of reminded me of those big, shortbread-butter-sugar-that-crumble-easily-and-taste-amazing cookies that you can get in NYC at bagel shops and the like. I wish I remembered what they were called, because I’d tell you. Then again, I kind of liked my description. Anyway, if you’ve ever been to the Big Apple (I hate that term… I don’t know why I used it), you probably know what I’m talking about.

Almond Cinnamon Cookies

Only very slightly adapted from Christmas Baking Magazine, 2010

makes about 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 2 cups all purpose flour

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add baking soda, cream or tartar and cinnamon.  Beat until combined, then beat in egg and vanilla. Once combined, beat in almond meal, then stir in flour.

Shape dough into balls and place on an ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake for about 13 minutes at 375 degrees. Cool on a wire rack.

Once cooled, drizzle with Browned Butter Drizzle  (recipe below) using the back of a spoon.

Browned Butter Drizzle

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbs butter
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • ~1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk

Directions:

In a small saucepan, heat butter over medium heat until light brown, stirring frequently. Once light brown, remove from heat. Slowly stir in powdered sugar, vanilla and almond milk. Stir until thoroughly combined.

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

6 responses to “Almond Cinnamon Cookies

  1. They were really good! I wish I had more of them. Like I really need more cookies.

  2. Mark

    It’s not like I’m saying I’m right all the time, but……

  3. Mark

    I’m right all the time

  4. these sound fantastic! I love a hint of cinnamon in my baked goods, especially in the winter time.

Leave a Reply

