Back in the Game

I have the most wonderful news ever: I ran this morning! Not for a race, not on a track, not on a treadmill… just a normal 3.58 mile run around my neighborhood.

I’m back in the game. And I feel fine.

It was the most wonderful feeling to lace up my sneakers and head outside to my regular starting point. Actually, no – the most wonderful feeling was finishing the run and knowing I was okay.

It was supposed to be a 4 mile run, but I felt little twinges in my knee and my achilles tendon and decided I’d rather play it safe than sorry. Plus, I’m out of my old running shape and 3.58 miles was far enough for me! It’s hard to believe I feel as spent after 3.58 miles as I did a couple of months ago after 6, but – hey – I’ll take it. I’m just glad I’m not more out of running shape than I am!

Anyway, I’m thrilled. Like, really, really, really thrilled. In case you couldn’t tell.

This morning’s run was interesting, too, because a lot has changed since I last ran around my neighborhood.

  1. The leaves have finally started changing, so it’s really beautiful right now.
  2. Christmas decorations are out! It’s funny that, in Southern California, points one and two happen pretty much simultaneously.
  3. Daylight savings time has happened, so I don’t have to wait for the sunlight anymore.
  4. It’s cold now! At least in the morning, which is when I run. I’m officially wearing layers on running mornings.
  5. Now that I’m avoiding hills, my runs will be kind of boring. I live in a very hilly area so I just kind of repeat the same streets over and over again. But I’ll take boring runs over no runs at all!
  6. I ran on the street instead of the sidewalk today (mostly), per doctor’s orders. I never realized what a difference it makes, but my knees felt 100x better on the pavement than on the sidewalk. I noticed it more since I was comparing the feelings side by side and actually paying attention to them. I could only stay on the street for so long (once it got later and more cars were out, I was better off with the safety of the sidewalk), but it was a good lesson for me and my temperamental knee.

Anyway, even though it was chilly, it still felt incredibly appropriate to come back and make a smoothie. It was kind of all I wanted.

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1 heaping tbs nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 scoop Greens & Whey
  • 2/3 cup fresh blackberries
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 3 frozen peach slices

On top:

  • drizzle melted coconut butter
  • Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax

Other good news – I won Julie‘s Healthy Homemade Granola in Tina‘s Holiday Bake Sale! Woo!

25 Days of Good Deeds for Christmas, Day 7

Today (and yesterday), as I’ve said, I covered the desk of a friend and co-worker at the office so that she could take a mini-vacation to spend with her visiting family.

Tuesday Morning Workout

5 minute walking warm up

3.58 mile run in 43:28 minutes, giving me a 12:06 mile

5 minute walking cool down

lots of stretching and icing!

My pace has slowed quite a bit, but I’m sure it will improve soon. I just need to get back in running shape!

8 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

8 responses to “Back in the Game

  1. great job on the run!!! I’m so glad to hear your knee cooperated! That’s wonderful!!

    And I definitely feel better running on asphault vs. cement; I always go for the street or dirt/grass when I can! Def helps!

  2. That sounds like a great smoothie! I’ll have to give it a try and I love the idea of putting a little granola on it.

  3. Yay for running! So glad you ran without pain today. Ready for a 5k Saturday?

  4. Hi, got your blog at burp and slurp. 🙂 Congrats on the run. I stopped running now and switched to biking because it’s gentler on my knees. And oh, you remind me to make smoothies again. thanks! 🙂

  5. I should try running outside on the street too. That’s a great idea. Seriously anything to avoid irritating my knee again.

  6. Whenever I resume running after a hiatus and find my endurance and pace have suffered, I think of it this way: How lucky to get more bang for your workout buck! In a couple months, 3.5 miles will feel easy—enjoy an abbreviated-but-still-tough workout while it lasts, and CONGRATS for hitting the road again!

  7. Yay – congrats on the run! Don’t worry about the timing or distance and just enjoy the movement you are getting. 🙂

    I love running on the street too because the sidewalks drive my knees crazy. I hate how narrow some of the streets are in Santa Monica though because it leaves very little room for me to run.

Leave a Reply

