Hummingbird Heartbeat

Remember how, the night before my 10K, I had that heartbeat issue? Well, for whatever reason, I had that problem again Sunday night. I really don’t know what it is. I’ve always assumed that it’s in reaction to certain foods, but I’ve thus far been unable to really identify what those foods are, other than MSG. If anybody has any guesses, by all means, let me know!

Anyway, because I didn’t fall asleep until after 1am that night (which means I was just lying in bed listening to my heartbeat for about 2 1/2 hours, b-t-dubs), I reset my alarm to 8am. No matter how desperately I wanted to go to the gym yesterday morning, there was no way I was waking up at 6am. That’s just not safe, especially since I’m recovering from an injury.

So, I slept in, felt at least mildly refreshed, and set about making a bowl of PB& J oatmeal.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • pinch salt
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 dashes cinnamon
  • dash Splenda
  • dash nutmeg
  • capful pure vanilla extract
  • ~3/4 cup frozen berries (strawberries, raspberries, blackberries)

On top:

  • 1 tbs Nuttzo Omega 3 Multi-Nut Bitter
  • sprinkle of coconut

Mark got a container of Nuttzo and didn’t love it (he’s kind of a nut butter purist, so he says), but I am all about it! I love all of the texture and crunch. Since I liked it so much, he gave it to me. Win!

Lunch was delicious, but nothing new. I had the remains of the refrigerated (I have at least 2 frozen servings left) of the Hearty Minestrone Stew (with an apple on the side for something sweet).

I seriously love that stew. I could eat it forever.

For snack late yesterday afternoon, I had another one of those awesome Chobani yogurts that were sent to me.

Yesterday’s pick was the honey flavor, which I topped with some Life cereal.

This is one of the most filling snacks I’ve had, which is great for someone like me who is most hungry from about 2:30pm-6pm. I always get really snacky during that time, so a filling snack nips that problem right in the bud.

By the way, do you notice the change of environment? I’m covering my co-worker Kim’s desk yesterday and today. That’s the very same Kim who makes the tea for Tea Tuesdays, by the way! She actually makes tea every day for someone else in the office, so I’m on duty while I’m covering her desk.

For the other person, I made Cacao Mint (by request), which I’ve had before. For myself, I made Almond Biscotti (black tea). It’s very hard for me to turn anything down with the word “almond” in the title.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t the biggest fan of this tea. It was pretty disappointing. I think I was just expecting a lot more. It smelled much better than it tasted.

Did you try anything new yesterday?

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

7 responses to “Hummingbird Heartbeat

  1. Almond biscotti tea?! I need to try that!

    I had chestnut honey this morning. DELICIOUS.

  2. i went to a new restaurant in burbank – that we should totally meet up at!

  3. Claire

    One of my coworkers used to have episodes where her heart beat really hard and fast for hours (cardiac arrhythmias) . Her mother and sister had the same issue. Sometimes they were brought on by being really tired or stressed, (or even her period) and she ALWAYS got them when she traveled. It was pretty bad and eventually both she and her sister got cardiac ablations which cured the issue. If they continue she recommends having a doctor check it out just to see what’s going on.

  4. How scary about your heartbeat. I have no clue what could cause that.

    I tried this soup at a little Thai place near us for the first time yesterday. Tom Ka Gai…holy AMAZING!

  5. Maybe the heartbeat was due to cookies… I had a hard time sleeping Sunday night and I think it was because I had so many cookies.

  6. Mark

    give me unsalted creamy peanut butter anyday! Nuttzo, Blech! Although the name is appropriate. The very thought that anything could improve peanut butter is utterly NUTS!!!

  7. ya know, that’s the problem my dad is having; he gets random heart flutters that aren’t…whatever the technical name is…or anxiety. we’re still trying to figure it out.

    and dangit, i want to try that nutzo. i’ve heard all about it but haven’t gotten it yet…arg! glad you liked it! too bad for mark…his loss.

Leave a Reply

