Happy Birthday, Mom!

Before I get to anything else….

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY BEAUTIFUL MOTHER!

She’s pictured above in one of my favorite pictures of her, next to my extremely tall and extremely handsome little brother.

My mom is one of my best friends in the world and I hope she knows how much she means to me. Please join me in wishing her a happy birthday! 🙂

I actually called her first thing this morning on my way to the gym, crackly voice and all. Unfortunately for her, she was on the other phone and didn’t have time to hear my raspy rendition of “Happy Birthday.” Don’t worry, we talked later. And yes, I still sang.

Anyway, the gym was good for me this morning. My knee is definitely aching, but I wanted to work out anyway and see if I could loosen it. Before boot camp, I talked to the awesome instructor, who has been attentive to my knee and achilles tendon issues since they began. I told him that I’d be avoiding squats and lunges this morning. We agreed that the best replacements for those activities would be running in place and doing arm exercises. They worked very well as alternatives. While I felt a little silly doing something so different from the rest of the class and while it was frustrating not to put 110% into my workout, I felt good knowing that I was, at least, being smart.

The teacher and I talked a lot after class as well, and he agreed with me that it might be a good idea to take a break from running for the rest of 2010 after this Saturday and from working out at all once I go home to CT. If it stick to that, it’ll be two weeks without working out. If I’m being honest with myself, I know I’m going to have a lot of trouble with this. However, I really do think it might be for the best. My body could probably use the healing time to reset. I don’t want to go into 2011 with any problems at all! Especially if I plan to run that half marathon in June…

Anyway, the instructor and I talked so much after class that I ended up only being able to squeeze in 25 minutes of cardio on a stationary bike. However, I actually think this might have been a good thing, as I’m really not out to push myself right now. I came home, iced for as long as I could, and then made a super yummy yogurt parfait for breakfast.

I started off with a 2% plain Chobani, with which I was totally in love.

I find that I usually feel the need to sweeten nonfat plain greek yogurt, but this was phenomenal all on its own! Plus, it kept me very full. Eating healthy fats in the morning is key for me for lasting satiety.

Into the mix went:

  • 1 container 2% plain Chobani
  • handful blueberries
  • handful blackberries
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • handful Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax
  • 1 graham cracker, crumbled

I absolutely loved the addition of the graham cracker. It made the bowl kind of remind me of cheesecake! You know, if I stretched my imagination.

Leave a comment, if you’d like, to wish my mom a happy birthday!

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to “Happy Birthday, Mom!

  1. Happy birthday KWH mom!

    I am just going to g-chat you my thoughts on this!

  2. squigglefloey

    Happy Birthday to your mother! My mom is my bestie as well…love mommys! haha.
    Anyways, where do you get your chobani? I’ve looked for them at ralphs and TJs but neither have them.

    • Hi! I have yet to find the Chobani yogurts at Ralph’s or TJ’s as well… I actually got them to review! However, I bet if you go to the Chobani site, you can find out where their yogurts are sold near you. Good luck!

  3. Happy Birthday, Mom! And thanks for having breakfast with us, Kaitlin!

    Emily
    Chobani Greek Yogurt

  4. Yum Chobani is awesome!

    Happy belated birthday to your Mom!

Leave a Reply

