Orange Teriyaki Tofu Stir-Fry

On Tuesday night, totally on a whim, I just kind of made up a recipe for a new stir-fry in the car. As I tried to figure out what ingredients I had on hand, I just started to think of what would be good together. This is what I came up with.

Orange Teriyaki Tofu Stir-Fry

makes 2 big servings

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup rice (preferably brown, but I used white… you know why)
  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • 2 tbs orange juice
  • 1 tbs coconut oil (unrefined is far preferable, but I only had refined on hand)
  • 1 package frozen vegetables (such as broccoli, bell peppers, onions, snap peas, carrots, etc. I used TJ’s harvest blend)
  • 2 blocks tofu, cubed (I used TJ’s prepared savory variety)
  • 1 orange, juiced
  • 1 tbs teriyaki sauce
  • 1 tsp (or more, to taste) coconut butter
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

In a rice cooker or in a covered pot, cook the rice in the water (bringing it to a boil and then lowering the heat, if in a pot).

While the rice is cooking, heat coconut oil in a large saucepan. Add the frozen vegetables and cook until softened.

While that’s cooking, cube your prepared tofu.

(Please ignore my chipped plate. No, seriously, look away?)

Juice one orange into a bowl.

Add the teriyaki sauce to the juice of the orange and whisk together.

Add the tofu, sauce mixture and coconut butter to the vegetables. Stir together.

Add the orange juice (not the juice from the orange… very confusing) to your now cooked rice. Add the rice to the vegetables and tofu.

Let everything simmer for a few minutes, and then you’re done!

I had it for dinner that night…


And for lunch yesterday. It was actually better on day two, once all of the flavors had really settled. The coconut flavor was definitely the best part!

Also, I totally forgot to mention both yesterday’s workout (well, at least, in the way I usually write it at the bottom of posts) and yesterday’s good deed!

25 Days of Good Deeds, Day 8

I should say that I don’t really think this was a good deed, but I’m using it anyway because I think the message behind it was important and I want to pass it along to you.

Last night, I convinced a friend to eat an ice cream sandwich.

Let me explain.

This friend worries about her weight, as so many women do. She is beautiful and athletic, but weight is an issue that bothers her at times (I can relate). Anyway, she told me she was struggling with whether or not she should have the ice cream sandwich (because, as much as she wanted it, she also wanted to fit in her jeans) and I said (I’m paraphrasing here), “Go get that damn ice cream sandwich!”

I think we all need to remember that, first and foremost, we don’t need to be perfect – we just need to be mindful. She had eaten well all day. She had just gone on a run. Also, it’s not like she was talking about going to a Baskin Robbins that she passes every day. The ice cream truck in question is a really cool, really fun and gourmet ice cream truck that’s just about never near where she lives. In my opinion, this was a no-brainer.

So, this totally wasn’t really a good deed, but I’d like to think it’s a good deed that I’m reminding all of you to treat yourself, albeit mindfully, especially during this wonderful holiday season. At a party, eat the amazing-looking homemade gingerbread cookies/ pecan pie/ whatever you are most excited about. Don’t, however, eat the store-bought, already stale chocolate chip cookies that aren’t even that good anyway.

See what I mean?

Wednesday Morning Workout

5 minutes elliptical trainer warm up (didn’t feel great on the knee, if I’m being honest)

45 minutes boot camp

25 minutes stationary bike (20 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

4 responses to “Orange Teriyaki Tofu Stir-Fry

  1. Erin

    It sounds like your friend and I have a lot in common, and I’ve learned to use the same philosophy you gave her! It’s always worth it to save your “splurge” foods for those that are truly special (homemade treats, sharing dessert after dinner when out with friends, the super-special ice cream truck…) It makes resisting the stale grocery store cookies and KFC chocolate cake that shows up in the kitchen at work super-easy to resist 😀

  2. Mark

    Kaitlin, I’m not sure if doing 25 good deeds in 25 days will make up for the rest of the year in Santa’s eyes. But I salute your effort.

  3. You are the best.

    And it was 2 pumpkin cookies with cinnamon ice cream. Holy crap it was worth it.

  4. I am glad you pushed your friend to get an ice cream sandwich! I agree with you completely that indulging in the rare, specially made treats (not served in a package) that you come across is so important. I have often denied myself the special treats and found myself fulfilling a craving with some gross packaged item.

Leave a Reply

