The Eve

I finally slept for eight hours last night.

Finally.

I don’t actually think I’ve mentioned it on here other than after the first night it happened this week, but I have been up with that heartbeat issue every single night this week. Not cool, heartbeat. Not cool. I’ve been kind of exhausted.

Anyway, I did experience it a little bit last night, but today was thankfully a designated “rest day” (tomorrow is a race day, after all!), so I got to sleep in until the glorious hour of 7:30.

I had a leisurely bowl of oatmeal, which was inspired by cheesecake.

Really, I just think graham crackers make me think of cheesecake.

(By the way, if I’m being honest, I have no idea how I got that cool picture.)

Into the mix went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • a few dashes of cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg
  • 1/2 banana, mushed
  • capful pure vanilla extract

On top:

  • blackberries
  • 1 graham cracker, crushed
  • 1 tbs (ish – probably less) White Chocolate Bliss peanut butter

It was pretty epic. Also, I love that the use of banana completely erases any need for sweetener.

I kind of… completely forgot about lunch? I mean, I honestly didn’t even think about it until I was at work. Thank goodness for our fully stocked kitchen.

I still had some baby carrots, celery sticks and edamame hummus left over from yesterday and the office still had plenty of flat-out wraps, grapes and cheese. So, I split a piece of provolone across a wrap and stuck it in the toaster for a few minutes, then spread the other side of the wrap with some hummus.

Then, I arranged the rest of my lunch items on the side.

Looks pretty similar to yesterday’s lunch, huh?

So, you know, lunch was totally healthy, but the healthy day kind of ended there.

I had a piece of chocolate after lunch, and then I got kind of cranky and emotionally ate some Pop Chips (which I so regretted), and then it was Coffee Bean Friday and I had half of a NSA Vanilla Soy Latte…

with a biscotti. I kind of completely forgot that it’s my birthday tomorrow (a good part of why I was in a bad enough mood to emotionally eat Pop Chips and a biscotti) and that my office might do something for me.

Fortunately for me and my mood but unfortunately for my already full stomach, they did.

I had a teensy tiny piece.

It was fudge cake. I couldn’t have done more than the teensy tiny piece if I tried.

Oof. Good thing I have a race to run tomorrow!

25 Days of Good Deeds for Christmas, Day 10

I fully admit, before I say anything that this is a cop-out. However, this “good deed” took more effort than most of my actual good deeds.

I was gracious to someone who absolutely did not deserve it. That’s all I’m going to say on that matter.

Friday Morning Workout

Pre-race rest day!

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

3 responses to “The Eve

  1. Good luck tomorrow and Happy (early) Birthday!

  2. glad you got 8 hours. hoping for a good night’s sleep for tomorrow’s race!

  3. Sorry your heart has been keeping you up!

    When I don’t sleep well, my eating habits get so off par. It is annoying.

    Hope your race went well!

Leave a Reply

