A Day Of Three Seasons

Sunday was gloriously lazy. After not going to bed until about 3am post-birthday festivities, I slept until 9:30! I felt like the day was half over by the time I was awake.

First things first, substantial food and coffee were in order. I was in charge of the asiago and parmesan scrambled eggs and Mark was in charge of the peppermint coffee. We make a good team. 🙂

We watched TV for a little while and eventually realized that we really needed to get out of the apartment. After making a half-assed attempt at finding an entry table, which we sorely need for our apartment, we realized that all we really wanted was more coffee, more food (it was about 3pm at this point), sunshine (it was 83 degrees!) and relaxation.

So, we first went to zpizza to get a small vegan pizza to split. Once again, I forgot to take a picture until we’d already started digging in.

And – get this: we found snow. And, yes, to be clear, it really was 83 degrees and we really are in LA. But, for whatever reason, somebody had shipped in and roped off some snow… which really just meant that it caused a minor flood on a much-used walkway.

So strange.

Next up: Starbucks. I loaded up with a Grande iced coffee with soy milk. Just what the doctor ordered.

Finally, we headed to a park in the area to just relax and read.

It was a day of many seasons. The temperature was summer, the snow was winter, and the park was fall.

Mark, naturally, climbed a tree to read.

I stayed on solid ground. 🙂

We stayed until the sun set, and then we headed to pick up some provisions for a casserole I’d decided to make for dinner.

But more on that later.

On the way home, we went the (very very) long way so we could look at all of the Christmas decorations in some surrounding neighborhoods while listening to Christmas music. This holiday makes me so happy!

We ended the day watching The Princess and the Frog. I can’t believe it took me so long to see this Disney gem, but I loved it!

25 Days of Good Deeds for Christmas, Day 11

I’ll admit – I completely forgot about this on my birthday. However, Mark was incredible, so I’m passing the torch to him on this one. Mark, as I said, went so above and beyond in making me feel special and loved. And that, if you ask me, is a pretty darn good deed.

25 Days of Good Deeds for Christmas, Day 12

On Sunday, I passed a girl who couldn’t have been more than 17 years old, sitting in an alleyway with a sign asking for help. She also looked so much like a sister of a friend of mine that it broke my heart. It wasn’t much, but I bought her a slice of pizza. I hope she’s okay.

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

5 responses to “A Day Of Three Seasons

  1. Raya

    I’m glad you had a good birthday! Now, since we were roommates at Foodbuzz, I feel totally comfortable asking you this. What’s the deal with you and Mark? Strictly friends? Hummmmm….

  2. LA weather is truly random. I like how the trees are just now hitting the fall mode.

    Sounds like a good Sunday Funday! 🙂

  3. Vegan pizza?!
    I want that 😀

  4. All nice christmas decor and especially liked the Santa balloon. 🙂 I want to have a slice of that tempting pizza and ship those weird three seasons here in the UK!

  5. actorsdiet

    i love looking at xmas decorations too. have you gone to candy cane lane in woodland hills? their stuff is epic!

Leave a Reply

