Black Swan

I was busy almost every second of yesterday. Seriously.

I love the holiday season, in case you haven’t noticed. Like, I really, seriously love them. But, if I had to admit that there was one little thing I didn’t love about it (other than it ending), it would be that there never seems to be enough time to get everything done!

I started my day out, per usual, with a stint at the gym. I was actually going to break my own rule and run yesterday, but I woke up not feeling like running at all (fate?) and ended up going to the gym. I kept it light and just did 65 minutes on the elliptical. It was boring, but at least I got moving (and caught up on some health mags).

I came back and had one heck of an oatmeal bowl.

(I am kind of in love with the detail in that photo… you can see the cinnamon specks!)

I tried using brown sugar in my oats for the first time and… holy heck, it was great.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • capful pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tbs brown sugar
  • 1/2 frozen banana, mushed
  • 2 dashes cinnamon

On top:

  • Nuttzo multi-nut butter
  • blueberries
  • dried cranberries

When I got to work, I was greeted with a fun surprise! Fresh & Easy (a favorite neighborhood supermarket that I first fell in love with Orange – where I went to grad school –  and just opened a new location in LA!) sent me a package of new products to taste. I am so excited!

I can’t wait to try everything, but I know that all of them will likely have to wait until I get back from holiday traveling. The bread went right into the freezer when I got home.

For lunch, I had more casserole leftovers.

Oh, and… spoiler alert: I’m having them for lunch again today. All I have to say about that is that you know something is good when you can eat it four days in a row and not get sick of it!

I also may or may not have followed lunch with a sliver of that birthday cake Mark made me. It was just… really good. And it was in front of me. Whoops.

It did, however, fill me up, so I only needed a pear at snack time and that tided me over until dinner.

Before I could get to dinner, I realized I had a Groupon at Nordstrom Rack that needed to be used before it expired! So, I headed over there and bought a bunch of things on sale that ended up feeling free because I’d already spent the money. Hooray! Merry Christmas to me. 🙂

When I finally got home for dinner, I was starving. I wish I hadn’t shoveled a bunch of tortilla chips into my mouth, but I also don’t know if I really could have stopped myself.

Meanwhile, I stir-fried some soycatosh, tempeh and zucchini in my love, Thai Yellow Curry Sauce.

Random but yummy and satisfying for my growling tummy.

I also managed to fit in doing some “baking” (more on that later) and seeing Black Swan last night. (I went to bed way too late, just in case you’re wondering). OMG it was amazing. 

25 Days of Good Deeds for Christmas, Day 14

For a little while now, I’ve had these bags hanging out in the back of my car.

In case you aren’t able to tell, those bags are full of old clothes that I’m ready to donate (after all, I’m not really planning on or expecting to ever be that heavy again!). So, I stopped by one of those Salvation Army Bag Drops that are all around LA.

And I donated! I also threw in that bag that someone had left outside of the container. 🙂

Tuesday Morning Workout

65 minutes elliptical trainer (60 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

Has anyone else seen Black Swan? I want to know your thoughts! (But no spoilers in the comments, please, to be sensitive to those who haven’t seen it.)

9 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

9 responses to “Black Swan

  1. I really want to see Black Swan!

    I love Fresh and Easy too. Our old apartment was in walking distance of one and it was the best. I miss it!

  2. YES! I love donating clothes, and I am in dire need of cleaning out my closet so I can do the same.

  3. Brown sugar in oatmeal is the best ever! I need to donate clothing too, especially the stuff that is to big. I feel like having it is like having too big of a safety net.

  4. actorsdiet

    i did see black swan and really enjoyed it. i played a ballet dancer in a movie and was VERY grateful i didn’t have to actually do any dancing! that stuff was intense!

    so cool that fresh and easy sent you those goodies! they’ve got a lot of products i’m curious about.

  5. Claire

    I have a date to go see it with a friend after Christmas! I’m really looking forward to it, I heard it was dark and twisted but good.

  6. jen

    Love brown sugar and oatmeal, sometimes I’ll just have the brown sugar. Simple and amazing.

    Jen

  7. Mark

    I’m still fantasizing about that one scene. WOO!!!

  8. I haven’t been to Fresh and Easy in a while! I go to one in Orange, too 🙂

  9. The oatmeal looks amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

