Vegetable Casserole

I made this recipe up on the spot while I was buying ingredients in Trader Joe’s and I can say, hands down, that this is one of my favorite things I have ever made. It is hearty, delicious, and full of different flavors and textures. I can guarantee that I’ll be making this again in the coming cooler months.

Vegetable Casserole

makes 6 large servings (I used this dish and another one half its size)

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup orzo
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • ~8 baby potatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 pint cremini mushrooms, sliced & chopped
  • 1 bag broccoli florets
  • 1/2 white/ sweet onion, diced
  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed & drained
  • 4 cups Tomato & Roasted Red Pepper Soup (I used TJ’s, of course)
  • Garlic Gold Italian Herbs Nuggets to taste (or, if you don’t have that, you could use garlic powder, oregano, and basil to taste)
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 3/4 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/3 cup grated parmesan & romano
  • 1/3 cup grated fresh asiago

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Place orzo in water in a pot on the stove. Bring to a boil and then cook for about 6 minutes, then let sit to absorb the water. The pasta should be al dente by the time you add it to the casserole.

Chop and prepare your vegetables, spreading them evenly across your casserole dish(es).

Add chickpeas and cooked orzo to the dish(es).

Add soup, Garlic Gold nuggets, salt and pepper to the dish(es) and stir to evenly distribute everything.

Sprinkle dish(es) evenly with bread crumbs and parmesan & romano.

Bake casserole for 45 minutes in the oven, taking it out after 35 minutes to add the asiago and putting it back into the oven for the last ten minutes so the cheese can melt and begin to bubble.

See? Two dishes for me.

So delicious.

Just trust me and make it.

You can thank me later.

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

6 responses to “Vegetable Casserole

  1. actorsdiet

    love that it’s all TJ’s ingredients! i’ll be making it fo sure

  2. It looks yummy, I might make this when Im cleaning out the fridge.

  3. That casserole looks amazing! But than again, being from Minnesota I have a deep level of respect for all things casserole.

    PS, your food pictures have been turning out really cool!

  4. Mark

    God, I want it again right now!

  5. Pingback: Around the Interwebs 12/17/10 « See Tiny Run

  6. I often make a similar one, but with pasta sauce and regular pasta (penne, fuscili, etc). This looks really good… AND, I have some TJ red pepper tomato soup in my fridge right now. 😀

Leave a Reply

