The Longest Day Ever

Yesterday was… a long day. It started at 6am (as most mornings do) at the gym and didn’t end until 12:30am. Would you believe me if I told you that after work last night (which ended at 7), I drove one person home, another to the airport, ran an errand, saw 127 Hours, and then baked not one, not two, not even three, but four different things last night?

It’s okay. I wouldn’t believe you if you told me that, either. I’m still fairly sure it was all impossible.

Anyway, so, I did all that.

I’m pretty tired.

I’m not sure how I feel about the workout I did yesterday morning. I did with all of the modifications I’d made on Monday and followed the class with the elliptical trainer as I usually do, but my knee bothered me all day yesterday – almost as if I have a bruise? It hurts in a different place than it usually does, though.

Then again, maybe it is a bruise. I am such a wimp.

For breakfast, I was craving yogurt bigtime. Fortunately, Mark was a champ and bought me some fruit on Tuesday because I was all out of fresh produce.

Into the mix went:

  • Chobani 2% plain yogurt (love)
  • raspberries
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax
  • coconut
  • walnuts

These yogurt bowls are totally my new favorite breakfast lately. It’s so funny how I go through phases.

Yesterday morning, Mark (who is definitely just my roommate and friend, for those of you who are convinced otherwise…) and I also exchanged Christmas gifts under the tree.

Mark made (yes, made!) me three beautiful necklaces. I can’t wait to show them off.

Also, Douglas is now gone. It felt so strange to get rid of the tree ten days before Christmas, but it was, sadly, necessary. The pine needle trail of death from our apartment to the dumpster was totally depressing. It was like an execution of a friend.

Good thing I’m not dramatic.

Lunch was the last (sigh) of the Vegetable Casserole.

I’ll miss it. Until we meet again…

I also finished off the last of my birthday cake. Well, the last of the cake that isn’t in the freezer. There was a lot of cake.

I have had a lot of dessert lately. The holidays + my birthday is not so good for my waistline.

However, sometimes birthday cake > eating perfectly. It’s cool, in January I’ll be excited about eating super healthy again. And in the meantime, when I don’t have birthday cake or Christmas cookies in front of me, I’m still eating healthy most of the time. 🙂

Anyway, dinner last night was… exactly the same as Monday night’s dinner.

Sorry.

I needed something quick and healthy and frozen vegetables and scrambled eggs were all I could handle last night, with all of the other things I had to do.

I’ll show you the fruits of my labor in the next post!

But in the meantime, let’s get to those 25 Days of Good Deeds

25 Days of Good Deeds for Christmas, Day 15

Despite having one million things to do last night, I still drove two different friends two different places. That’s what friends are for, right?

Wednesday Morning Workout

45 minutes boot camp

35 minutes elliptical trainer (30 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

7 responses to “The Longest Day Ever

  1. Mark

    Au revoir, Douglas. You are missed.

  2. squigglefloey

    You have such a wonderful roommate! 🙂

  3. OH NO DOUGLAS! Ha ha. Sorry its not funny. I just love the line “it was like executing a good friend- good thing I’m not dramatic”

    This comment is nutty. Finals ending + too many cocktails = tipsy commenting. 😛

  4. actorsdiet

    how lovely of your roomie to make you gifts! i want some bday cake!

  5. jen

    Sometimes a girl just needs a little birthday cake 🙂

    Jen

  6. Raya

    Baaahahahaha. Thanks for clearing that Mark thing up for me. =)

    P.S. R.I.P Douglas!

Leave a Reply

