Homemade Christmas Gifts

Yesterday morning looked kind of like this, but a thousand times messier (since these were taken after everything was put together):

And that’s even after some were gone already.

You should have seen the aftermath in my apartment.

Here’s what was in each of those gifts (I’ll post recipes/ instructions – some of them don’t quite qualify as recipes – in the coming days):

Peppermint Kiss Cookies

Black and White Chocolate-Covered Pretzels

Peppermint Candy Pretzels

Christmas M&M Cookies

Peppermint Bark

I was especially proud of the Peppermint Bark.

Then, I wrapped everything up. Here’s what the bags looked like on the inside:

And on the outside:

Then, for Boss #1 (the one without a sweet tooth), I made Whole Wheat Cheddar & Chive scones. I used this recipe from Rachel, but used whole wheat pastry flour because I didn’t realize I was out of all purpose flour, cheddar instead of gruyere, and chili powder instead of paprika because I totally thought I had paprika but, clearly, was completely wrong. Anyway, it didn’t matter because the scones were still pretty awesome. Also, these were my first scones. Hooray for success!

And for Boss #2, I made a batch of Almond Bark.

This was a lot of work, but it was worth it! It required baking after work on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. And wrapping on Thursday morning. Whew! The payoff, of course, was that people seemed to really like everything… and that’s what it’s all about!

Gift-giving is one of my favorite parts of the holidays and I think homemade gifts are the best.

Are you giving any homemade gifts this season? I’d love to hear about them!

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “Homemade Christmas Gifts

  1. yum Kaitlin! I’m about to make a bunch of cookies and bark for my family get-together this weekend. My bark doesn’t look nearly as pretty as yours though!

  2. Last year I did something similar to bring into the office…although every treat was different than yours. Blossom and I made fudge, buckeyes, rice crispie wreaths, gingerbread cookies and sugar cookies. It was like 13 hours of baking on a Sunday. Craziness, but fun and worth it.

    And yes, I agree with you. Homemade presents are the best!

  3. Those are awesome goodie bags!

    And I agree that giving gifts is the best part of Christmas. It is so fun watching people get so happy from opening gifts.

  4. you did a great job on the homemade gifts! i think those are so much more fun to give/get than store bought. fun and cute!

Leave a Reply

