Travel Day

There’s just something about waking up on a day on which you’re going to travel, isn’t there? You just wake up excited. I do, anyway.

Long before traveling, however, I had some things to do! I started off, of course, with the gym. Knowing full well that this was to be my last high intensity cardio workout for the rest of 2010, I gave it my all, and thus I left the gym kind of soaked.

Interestingly, the boot camp instructor yesterday morning was the one about whom I had not been particularly excited in the beginning, and I now like her a lot. It just goes to show that first impressions are not always accurate and some people (me) shouldn’t jump to conclusions.

I was starving by the time I left the gym, which actually isn’t normal for me. Maybe all of those cookies had something to do with it. I’m surprised I made it through my shower before eating. My stomach was growling!

Naturally, I made a yogurt bowl. They seem to be all I’m craving lately.

Into the mix went:

  • one container of 0% plain greek yogurt
  • Go Lean Crunch! Honey Almond Flax
  • the last ( ;( )of the Frog Hollow Pear Granola (I’m really going to miss that stuff)
  • 2/3 banana, sliced
  • coconut
  • walnuts
  • cranberry apple butter

Yum!

Doesn’t the cranberry apple butter kind of look like the cherry on top of a sundae?


This bowl was fantastic. I will say, though, that I much prefer the 2% to the 0%… especially since I was starving again by the time 1:00 came around. When I eat the 2%, I can usually last an hour longer.

I had planned absolutely nothing for lunch, so again I was lucky to have a stocked kitchen.

I spread one and a half pieces of Monterey Jack Cheese on a Flat Out wrap and put that in the toaster for a few minutes, then spread the other half with edamame hummus and topped it all with some fresh baby spinach.

On the side, I had some baby carrots, more hummus, and an unpictured apple.

Worked out pretty nicely! I also, for the first time this week, finally turned dessert down – even when it was rice pudding from that amazing truck yesterday. I think I might be getting a little sick of sweets.

My good deed for the day for the 25 Days of Good Deeds is one that I cannot believe I am only getting to now.

Warning: if you’re squeamish about hair (like my sister is), maybe don’t read on.

25 Days of Good Deeds for Christmas, Day 17

I cut my once very long hair back in January. In case you can’t do the math, that’s almost a year ago. The hair has been sitting in a bag in the back of my car for that whole time. Yesterday, I finally got around to sending it to Locks of Love!

Check out the ponytail.

That’s ten inches of hair right there!

But now it’s gone. 🙂

Friday Morning Workout

5 minutes elliptical trainer warmup

45 minutes boot camp

35 minutes elliptical trainer (30 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

Next time you hear from me, I’ll be in Connecticut!

WOOHOO!

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

7 responses to “Travel Day

  1. I love all of your good deeds; so inspirational. 🙂

  2. i totally thought that was a cherry! love the cranberry sauce though; is it the tj’s spread? that stuff is like crack it’s so good!

    and omg you’ve had your hair almost an entire year!? i’m going to forewarn you though, they might not accept it this late; there is a degenerative process that goes on with your hair after it’s cut and it’s actually becomes radioactive at some point…so yeah.

    Safe travels lady!!!

  3. That is too funny that you had that big ponytail in your car for that long! If someone would have broken into your car I think they would have stopped when they found that – it would be like your very own (very weird) security for your car.

    Way to get in a great workout before your trip! Have a great flight!

  4. My sister cut her hair almost two years ago and still hasn’t donated it! I will remind her 🙂

  5. christine

    Haha that’s so funny! I cut 10 inches in May and have had the ponytail in a bag in my living room (gross!)… I was beginning to worry that it was too late and that I would never get around to sending it in, but you’ve inspired me!

Leave a Reply

