Red Eye

I really like milking every second of my vacation, so I had scheduled a red eye flight for Friday night – in other words, ASAP. Unfortunately, the airline wasn’t in quite as much of a rush. My flight was delayed two hours, which isn’t that long in the grand scheme of things but felt like a long time to wait when I’d just rushed over to the airport after work and when I was so exhausted and eager to get on the plane to fall asleep.

When I went to grab dinner, I found that most options were fish-based and I wasn’t feeling very trusting of airport fish, so I had a cheeseburger (no pictures, but I’m sure you can use your imagination). Unfortunately, I spent the duration of my meal being forced to listen to the extremely loud girl next to me making fun of overweight people. That was fun. I came so close to saying something to her but decided an airport restaurant/ bar probably wasn’t a great place to pick a fight with a stranger.

Anyway, the night improved immensely a little later, when I fortuitously looked up and saw one of my friends, Mike! We ended up gettingย  drinks at the same restaurant/ bar I’d just left. I got a small beer, figuring a little alcohol might help me sleep.

After an uneventful flight during which I (thankfully) I spent the entire time sleeping, I was so happy to see my Dad waiting for me at the airport. I also immediately told him, in my fairly drug-induced state (I was still kind of knocked out from the Tylenol PM I’d taken for the flight), that I wouldn’t hate it if we stopped at Starbucks.

Thankfully, he picked up on my subtle hints.

I treated my tastebuds (and my growling tummy) with a Soy Peppermint Mocha (just one pump of each syrup).

When I got home, my wonderful mother made me some eggs and toast. Clearly, she knows the way to my heart. ๐Ÿ™‚

Lunch, a few hours later, was fresh rotisserie chicken on freshly baked bread with a little olive oil mayo (this is literally the only sandwich on which I like mayonnaise… isn’t that weird?) and some BBQ Pop Chips on the side.

Food just tastes better at home, you know what I mean?

I also had my mom’s new favorite drink, which is seltzer with a splash of pomegranate juice.

It was all kinds of awesome. Even more awesome? My mom had made my Grandma’s famous Czechoslovakian bars.

I am definitely going to have to make these and post the recipe. And you’ll thank me. Profusely.

Oh, and even more awesome than even those (delicious) bars? These faces:

So good to be home.

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “Red Eye

  1. Aw! I’m glad to hear your flight was only delayed 2 hours. I have mine tomorrow and its still raining. Fingers crossed for no delays!

  2. Have fun being at home! I can’t wait for the recipe for those bars… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I am looking forward to the recipe for those bars ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Yes!!!!!! I so know what you mean, everything is better at home – especially home cooking and reuniting with dogs! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

