Broke My Promise

Let me start with some gratuitous dog pictures.

They’re totally best friends. It’s adorable.

Anyway, yesterday was a whirlwind of doctor’s appointments, but the most important one was the one in which I got to rid myself of the dreadful heart monitor. So glad I only needed a 24-hour one and not a 48-hour one.

I fueled for the day with a yogurt bowl, since my mom noted my love for CHO and stocked up for me. 🙂

Into the mix went:

  • 1 pineapple 2% Chobani
  • Julie‘s healthy homemade granola
  • blueberries
  • blackberries
  • raspberries

Isn’t the grain of the wood pretty? I love the photos I take at my parents’ house.

Another reason my mom rocks? She packed me lunch!

She made me a chicken sandwich (basically all I’ve had for lunch since I came home…) with the Crispy Parmesan Chicken from the night before, cheddar cheese and honey mustard on a toasted english muffin.

I also snacked on an apple a little bit later.

Now, to get to that whole breaking my promise thing…

I worked out yesterday.

I just… had to. First of all, my doctor didn’t give me any indication that I had to stop working out altogether, so there was that. But really, after being limited in movement for the previous 24 hours from the heart monitor, after three days of not working out at all, and after a day full of doctor’s appointments… like I said, I just had to.

So, I fueled up with a handful of dark chocolate-covered raisins (what, that’s not fuel?) and went to the local gym (which I love) and did 20 minutes on an Arc Trainer and followed it with an hour-long strength class and then an hour-long kickboxing class. I had a blast. It was exactly what I needed!

And then, when I came home, I found that my mom had made an awesome dinner: grilled shrimp and sauteed vegetables in a chili sauce with white rice.

Um. Yum.

I could get used to coming home to a warm dinner!

…Mark.

Just kidding.

Oh, my mom and I also had a baking project yesterday…

… but I’ll get to that in another post. 🙂 I have a good deed to get to.

25 Days of Good Deeds for Christmas, Day 21

When I was in high school, I was in a choir that sold grapefruit every year in order to raise funds. This meant that every fall, I was held accountable for selling X many boxes of fresh grapefruit… no easy feat!

To this day, despite the fact I graduated roughly a thousand years ago, my family still buys grapefruit from the choir.

Yesterday, I went to pick our box of grapefruit up.

Someone else was pretty interested, too…

🙂

These 25 days are wrapping up!

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to “Broke My Promise

  1. Why grapefruit? 🙂

    That is awesome that your Mom is making you all these great meals!

  2. Mark

    Wow you look great for someone who graduated so long ago! I guess you took a few hundred gap years between high school and college.
    But I digress: I KNEW YOU’D WORK OUT!!!! It was only a matter of time you filthy little lier! Ice, ice baby! Uh… just fyi that was a command, not a song reference.
    And p.s. If I cooked everyday we’d have the same thing over and over as I don’t have your blogger’s guilt. I’d bake for you everyday but you’d probably either grow to hate me or just not eat anything I put on the table!
    Yeah that’s right, I know you!

  3. That’s a serious workout! I’m done after one class 🙂

  4. squigglefloey

    Aw your mom is such a sweetheart! ❤

  5. Meg

    Oh, those dogs are seriously adorable . . . I could go for some gratuitous dog photos any day!

    Love that yogurt bowl, too. I’m trying to incorporate more fresh fruit into my diet . . . a goal for the coming year!

  6. I’m catching up on all your Christmas vacation blogs tonight, but I just HAD to comment about the grapefruit! I had no idea they were still selling it since Sjogs retired and I’m SO bummed I didn’t order any. I could seriously eat an entire box on my own…I’ve never found any grapefruits that taste as good as those did.

Leave a Reply

