M&M Cookies

I had a whole lot of red and green M&Ms and a whole lot of people to make holiday-themed goodies for. So, what simple solution did I turn to? M&M cookies. I was in a pinch (read: no time) and didn’t have my family’s go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe on hand (for shame), so I turned to one of Mark’s favorite cookbooks, that of Magnolia Bakery.

My adaptations were to sub M&Ms for chocolate chips (obvi dot com) and to use whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose (which was honestly just because I was all out of all-purpose flour… whoops). I also doubled it. I had a lot of people to bake for.

I’m posting the recipe with the above substitutions (and in my own words) here, but please note the source.

M&M Cookies

adapted from the Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe in The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook

makes about 3 dozen cookies

Directions:

  • 3 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 2/3 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup M&Ms

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Soft together flour, baking soda and salt in a large bowl, then set aside.

Cream together butter and sugar with a mixer until fluffy. Add in egg and vanilla and mix again. Add flour mixture to butter mixture and beat together.

Fold in M&Ms. Roll into tablespoon-sized balls and space evenly on a cooking sheet. Please note that the cookies will spread.

Bake 10-12 minutes and cool on wire racks.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “M&M Cookies

  1. Tes

    Wow these M&M cookies look fabulous! I think my son will love this. I will try this 🙂

  2. Meg

    Simple and classic! Those look great.

Leave a Reply

