Peppermint Bark and Almond Bark

Happy Christmas Eve!

I swear I’ll be back later today with a “real” post, but right now I have some holiday family traditions to which I must attend.

For now, I’ll leave you with my favorite item of those Christmas bags I gave to friends at my office.

And it’s only half because it was so pretty. It was also really tasty.

I’m not going to lie… I was pretty proud of it.

Peppermint Bark

Ingredients:

  • 2 bags Semi-Sweet Chocolate Callets (from Trader Joe’s – about 20 oz)
  • 1 1/2 bags white chocolate chips (~18 oz)
  • 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 1 tbs peppermint extract
  • ~ 1/2 cup crushed peppermint candies (such as candy canes)

Directions:

Melt chocolate callets in the microwave for about 1 1/2 – 2 minutes, stopping every 30 seconds to stir.

Once melted and stirred, pour onto parchment paper spread across a baking sheet evenly.

Freeze for 20 minutes.

Melt white chocolate chips for 30 seconds in microwave, then take out to stir and add coconut oil. Microwave for another 1 – 1 1/2 minutes, stopping every 30 seconds to stir.

Once the white chocolate is melted, stir in peppermint extract.

Pour white chocolate mixture on top of frozen dark chocolate sheet.

Spread white chocolate evenly across with a spatula and sprinkle with peppermint pieces.

Freeze for 20-30 more minutes.

If possible, refrigerate overnight.

Break sheet into pieces… and you’re done!

As for the Almond Bark…

Same directions.

Except I used a bag of Milk Chocolate Almond Hershey Kisses.

And instead of peppermint extract, I used almond extract.

And instead of peppermint candy, I used red and green sprinkles and crystallized sugar.

But I think I’d use toasted candied almonds next time, instead.

This was my first attempt at bark. I broke it too early. Please forgive the ugliness.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Peppermint Bark and Almond Bark

  1. your bark looks delicious! I love the combination of flavors!
    Cheers
    Dennis

Leave a Reply

