Peppermint Kiss Cookies

I know it’s a little late now, but I still have these cookies and those chocolate covered pretzels to post about. So, you know, make ’em next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll be honest. I never tasted these cookies once baked. I made too few for one to be sacrificed to taste-testing. I did, however, taste the dough, and I felt pretty good about them. And, you know, I had faith in my baking skills at this point.

I also just think the concept of these cookies is kind of fun, especially because everyone definitely looks at them and expects peanut butter. SURPRISE! It’s kind of like when you go to drink your glass of milk and find out you actually picked up the orange juice.

Except I hope it’s a more pleasant experience than that.

In fact, I’d like to think it’s a way more pleasant experience than that.

Come to think of it, if you make these, you might want to tell your cookie recipients what the cookies actually are before they take a bite.

(I didn’t, though. Where’s the fun in that?)

Peppermint Kiss Cookies

adapted from the Chocolate-Mint Thumbprints recipe from Betty Crocker

makes about 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1tbs peppermint extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl cream together the sugar, butter, vanilla and peppermint until fluffy. Add egg and and beat until smooth. Beat in flour.

Roll rounded teaspoon-sized balls and spread out on an ungreased baking sheet. Please note that cookies will spread.

Make thumbprint indentations in the center of each ball.

Top each thumbprint indentation with a Peppermint Hershey’s Kiss.

Bake for 8-10 minutes and cool on a wire rack.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Peppermint Kiss Cookies

  1. its funny actually, i was jsut about to make these!!! (except not the peppermint variety because it was too snowy today to go out and buy peppermint extract)
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Chocolate, peppermint, and butter… yup, I want these!

Leave a Reply

