New York, New York: Part I

Ah, New York. One of my favorite cities of all time.

I was actually supposed to go into the city (and yes, those of us who grew up in the suburbs of NYC call it “the city”) on Monday, but the blizzard foiled all of my plans. Thankfully, nearly all of my friends with whom I had plans were able to reschedule with me.

I started my time in New York with my friend Sarah, who knows me oh-so-well; she planned a foodie adventure for us in Chelsea Market!

Seriously, does that girl know me, or what?

We started the adventure off at a place called The Filling Station, with which I absolutely fell in love.

You essentially get to walk around and try samples of different flavors of vinegars, olive oils and salts. Tasting the olive oils and salts was a little weird, but I had a little party with the vinegars.

My favorites were the pomegranate and the coconut. The honey ginger was good but super intense.

Next up: lunch! We went to a place called Amy’s Bread.

We got two sandwiches…

Vegetarian White Bean
With roasted garlic, avocado, tomato, lettuce & a drizzle of lemon oil, on whole wheat 5-grain bread.

and

NY State Goat Cheese on French Baguette
With roasted tomato, roasted eggplant, black olive tapenade & fresh thyme.

In a word: yum! I liked the white bean sandwich slightly better than the goat cheese, but both were delish.

Obviously, since we were on a foodie journey, our next step was to get dessert. Earlier, a place called Bar Suzette had caught our eyes, as they had some pretty amazing-looking dessert crepes. Actually, they had some pretty amazing-looking savory crepes, too, and I found myself wishing maybe we’d gotten lunch there, instead.

We ordered a crepe with Nutella, banana and coconut.

Um.

YUM.

Sarah designed that crepe. She knows what she’s doing.

Eventually, our foodie journey had to end, so we trudged through the slushy streets over to Will’s apartment, which is where I would be staying the night.

Naturally, we took pictures by Will’s tree. Because, you know, that’s what friends do.

I like that Sarah and I matched with our belts and Will and I matched with our color scheme.

After a little while, Sarah went home and Will and I headed out for dinner at a restaurant in Murray Hill called Hudson Place. I apologize – the pictures are horrendous – but I wasn’t really down with breaking out the flash in a dark NY restaurant.

The meal began with garlic bread…

And I began with a glass of Sauvignon Blanc…

For my meal, I got Maple Curry Chicken, which came with sauteed vegetables and french fries.

The chicken was good, but I was really disappointed with the vegetables. They were soaked in oil and way too much garlic.

We planned to spend the rest of the night just hanging out at Will’s apartment. On the way back, I got to see the Empire State Building, still lit up for Christmas.

Perfect. 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “New York, New York: Part I

  1. Holy food! All of those eats look so good. Welcome back to blogging 🙂

  2. Looks like your having a great time in New York with great food 🙂

  3. Aww Kaitlin it sounds like you had a great time in “our city”. Love the pictures and the food adventure

  4. I would love to go to New York! I went when I was 16 and definitely didn’t appreciate it as much as I would now. Your trip looks fun!

Leave a Reply

