New York, New York: Part II

Day 2 in NYC began with me waking up hours before Will (I’m an early riser and he is… not).

I went out to Will’s balcony so I could show you his amazing view:

I know, right? Lucky bastard.

Anyway, eventually my growling tummy overcame my desire to be a good house guest and I woke Will up so we could go to breakfast.

We went to a place called Moonstruck Diner.

I started off, as one does at breakfast (and especially at a diner), with coffee and orange juice.

For breakfast, I ordered the Eggs Florentine, with fruit instead of potatoes.

I felt I needed some fruit and vegetables in my life. I also wanted little-to-no oil (diner meals tend to bring guaranteed stomachaches for me). This was the best I could do.

I’d never had poached eggs before, but I figured it was as good of a time as any to try them. I was pleasantly surprised!

The aftermath:

The plan, at that point, was to go to the top of the Empire State Building. Despite being from Connecticut and despite having worked for months and stayed often in New York, I’d never done this before!

Sadly, I still haven’t. It was either a 2 1/2 hour wait (which we didn’t even have, much less want to spend) for $21/ each or a half-hour wait over $50/ each. No thanks.

So, instead, we walked around Herald Square…

…saw the world’s largest store, apparently…

… hopped across/ through some crazy slush puddles…

… took some self-portraits…

… and saw the Statue of Liberty.

Juuuust kidding about that last one. Obviously. 😉

Eventually, it was time for Will and me to part. I had plans for a lunch reunion with some of my closest friends from college!

We met up at a restaurant/ bar called Joshua Tree.

It was SO GOOD to see these faces again!

That’s Justin, Rose, Jess and Mollie.

Though the menu was extensive, no fewer than three of us managed to order the same exact thing: the BBQ chicken wrap.

The food was good, but – of course – I was there for the company.

Lunch, sadly, was brief – I had to catch my mom in another part of the city so we could head home together. Still, however, we managed to get a group picture before I rushed off.

The rest of the afternoon was a bit of a mad rush. I’d left my bag with Will’s doorman, but they accidentally sent my bag off with someone’s laundry and were kind of no help at all in tracing it (they were much more interested in yelling at each other over the mishap, as nobody wanted to take the blame), so I had to track it down myself and raced across the city to get it and then to meet my mom in time. Thankfully, I made it to where my mom was just as her appointment ended. This was great, as it meant riding home in the comfort of her car rather than a packed train during rush hour!

We also stopped for a really nice dinner together on the way home, at one of my favorite restaurants, Cava.

We started with drinks, of course! A Cosmopolitan for my mom (her favorite) and a Mangopolotian (Van Gogh mango vodka, grand marnier, lime juice, splash of cranberry) for me.

It was a little sweet, but please believe me when I say I had absolutely no trouble polishing it off. 🙂

We also started off with some really yummy olive bread.

We got our favorite appetizer from this restaurant, which I kind of completely forgot to photograph, but it was a grilled shrimp and hummus dish. Delicious.

For my meal, I wish I’d gotten my old favorite, but I decided to try a special: Veal Osso Bucco in Pappardelle. This is a dish I would never, ever order, but, for some reason, it sounded good at the time.

It was good, but it wasn’t really my cup of tea. I ended up eating less than half of it.

I had such a wonderful time visiting New York, but I will say this: for the longest time, I’ve felt that I’ve been living in the wrong city by living in LA and not NY. Lately, though, each time I’ve visited NY, I’ve realized more and more that LA might, in fact, be a better match for me.

Crazy.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “New York, New York: Part II

  1. I always felt the same way about LA and NYC. There’s just something so romantic about NYC, and I always remember the good old college days, when I lived just 20 minutes outside the city.

    Like you, I think my perspective has evolved. First of all, where else can you play soccer outdoors all year round?

    Also, I was in NYC about half a year ago, and I’m pretty sure I took a photo next to that same exact Statue of Liberty! I’m glad you got your suitcase back (though on second thought, maybe you should’ve just had ’em launder your clothes for you)!

  2. Growing up in California, I always thought I would rather live in New York. I think each city has its pros and cons. I really want to visit New York again! Glad you had fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

