2011 Resolutions

So, I know this is a little late in the game, but it felt weird not catching up on 2010 before getting to my goals for 2011.

1. Lose the weight I need to lose in order to run without hurting myself.

This is my biggest goal of 20111. This is also not something I thought I’d be focusing on this year, but a recent discussion with my doctor confirmed my suspicion that a big reason for my knee problems and other joint issues has been that I have too many pounds on my frame.

As for how I’ll be working to achieve this goal, I’m sure you’ll see how I’m doing it as time goes on, so there’s no need (or desire on my part) to get into any “rules” of my diet right now. What I would like to say now, though, is that my “diet” won’t necessarily completely run along my belief system of healthy living (especially considering that I don’t believe in diets).

I’m going to use a line I got from my friend Katherine: what I’ll be doing to lose the weight is not for everyone and it’s not for always; it’s just what is going to work for me right now… and it has been run by my doctor.

2. Listen to my body and do what is right for it, not what I stubbornly want to do.

(source)

This means I’m done running, at least for a long while (sigh).

This also definitely means that when I’m injured, I don’t push myself. This is big for me, as I was often stupidly stubborn about getting workouts in this year, even (especially) when I should have been giving my body a break.

Similarly, I need to work on realizing that getting my workouts in is not more important than sleep. Sleep is more important than my workout schedule!

3. Work on snacking.


(source)

This actually goes right along with the “listen to your body” point above. I am as ritualized in my eating as I am in my workouts, which can be a problem.

There are times that I just snack because I’m bored or because food is in front of me and that’s stupid, especially because I can go really overboard in grazing (like at parties, for instance). There are also times that I eat because it’s “time to eat,” and not because I’m hungry. Similarly, there are times that I don’t eat because I’m not “supposed to,” and I end up so hungry that I overeat later. This is all quite silly. So, I’m going to work on it.

4. Commit to trying new forms of exercising.

(source)

I’ve been talking about trying yoga and pilates forever, but I still haven’t really made that much of an effort. Here’s to working on that.

5. Get some real furniture.

I am so over IKEA.

6. Travel.

I did my fair share of traveling in 2010, but I’d like to do even more. I’d love to get out of the country, if possible.

7. Really focus on building my career in a way to leads directly to my goals and take steps toward actively getting there.

(source)

8. Move.

(source)

I want a house. With a yard. That, however, must wait until my lease is up.

9. Get a dog.

See above, with the yard. That has to happen first.

10. Replace desserts with tea at night.

11. Use my recipe resources. I’d like to actually make recipes from the cookbooks I’ve purchased and the hundreds of recipes I’ve ripped out of magazines and never looked at again (please tell me I’m not the only one).

12. Improve upon my photography.

(source)

This means, first of all, actually reading my camera’s manual.

13. Get better about staying in touch with out-of-state friends.

Moving across the country from home and from where I went to college means I’m pretty out of the loop of the lives of many of my friends. Returning home and being reminded of how wonderful they all are proved to me that I need to be better about this.

14. Actually use my crock pot.

(source)

Seriously, this has been on my to do list for months… and the pot has definitely been gathering dust.

15. As always, continue to grow with and improve upon the blog.

And…. that’s it! Anything you’d add? ๐Ÿ˜‰

14 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

14 responses to “2011 Resolutions

  1. I love ikea furniture. But that might be my ‘just graduated from college cant afford anything else’ mentality, haha.

  2. Great resolutions, especially the one about using your crockpot more. I definitely need to do that.

  3. good luck with your weight loss so you can run!! just make sure you don’t deprive yourself with no desserts – life is short ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Wow, that’s an intimidating list of resolutions. I like the “work on snacking” resolution. My hunch is that is something that most people struggle with. It’s so easy to snack so much that you’re not hungry when it’s time for a real meal. Problematic for obvious reasons…..all snack and no nutrients = no bueno!!

  5. Great post! If you want to get out of the ikea rut I can suggest some good places. When I moved to LA my cousins best friend decorated my apartment super cheaply and only 1 item is from ikea. Maybe a flea market outing is in order?

  6. oh ikea…at least you had a choice in your furniture. my place is furnished so i have no choice. booo! haha!

    and i hope your knee heals quick cause duh, you gotta run the SD 1/2 with all of us…I’m totally getting Amanda on the bandwagon. Katherine already is. ๐Ÿ™‚ And my brother, Whit and a few friends might also run the marathon w/ me! whoohoo!!!!

    and get a dog. a big one. little dogs are measly.

  7. Tea is a great dessert replacer! Especially a sweet tea. I like Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride by Celestial Seasonings ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck on your goals!

  8. Mark

    I can make the tea!!!

  9. Vera

    There is an amazing donation-based yoga studio in Santa Monica (RE:#4). It’s in a very hot room, and it makes you feel amazing!

  10. squigglefloey

    crock pots save my life when I want pulled chicken for the week and am too busy to make it — so I usually make some in a crock pot over the weekend and use it all through the week ! ๐Ÿ™‚ you’ll enjoy it!

  11. whitney

    #5 made me laugh
    #6&7 inspire and motivate me
    #8… well… makes me happy!!!

  12. GET A DOGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

    yes yes yes yes yes

    YES!

    and i am so over ikea, too.

  13. Laura @Backstage Pass

    I need to work on my snackiness, too! Especially at night. Your tea habit sounds like a good one for me to try out.
    You should travel to a far and distant land … Milwaukee ๐Ÿ˜€ remember, you’ve got an open invitation at casa de Laura & Zak!

  14. Great list of goals! And I really think you would love to read the Primal Blueprint book just because it is interesting, especially on the topic of scheduled eating as opposed to listening to your body.

    A house in Cali? It would be nice to be done with apartments. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

