How I’ve Been Doing

You’ve probably already noticed that my blog has been changing. I haven’t really kept up with a day’s eats, consistently (or in a timely fashion), in weeks.

As the blog progresses, I find that many of my favorite posts include food and fitness, but do not center upon making sure I detail every morsel that goes into my mouth or every minute of my workouts. I’m hoping you feel the same way. I’m not 100% sure how the blog will progress from here on out, but I hope you’ll be along for the ride… we’ll figure it out as we go along! As always, I’m eager to hear your input.

Of course, this is still a healthy living blog, and food and fitness obviously continue to be absolutely crucial focal points of the blog.

Also, most of my New Year’s resolutions focus on food and fitness! Naturally, I want to fill you in on how I’ve been doing with them. Given all of the traveling I did on January 1st and 2nd, my New Year’s resolutions began firmly on the morning of January 3rd.

I’ve pretty much been eating the same foods, but in different (or not) combinations.

Breakfasts have twice been yogurt bowls (minus cereal)…

Into the mix went:

  • 3/4 container plain, 0% Voskos Greek yogurt
  • pomegranate seeds
  • blackberries
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • nut granola OR nut butter

And twice, since I had to eat away from home, yogurt bowls in a jar… or YBIAJ.

And, one morning when it was actually warm enough, I had a smoothie

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • handful fresh baby spinach
  • blackberries
  • 2/3 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • heaping tbs TJ’s 0% Greek yogurt
  • 1 scoop Greens & Whey

On top:

  • coconut butter (mixed with a little coconut oil to make it drizzle)
  • pomegranate seeds

Lunches have been two different forms of veggies + chicken.

Twice that’s been a Thai salad (the same one, both days)…

Into the mix went:

  • bed of baby greens
  • chicken
  • edamame
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • baby heirloom tomatoes
  • cucumber slices
  • TJ’s Asian Style Spicy Peanut Dressing (OMG love)

And twice that’s been roasted veggies …

plus chicken and parmesan.

Roasted Vegetables & Chicken:

  • carrots
  • eggplant, cubed
  • broccoli
  • onion
  • EVOO
  • salt & pepper
  • garlic powder
  • cooked chicken

Everything except the chicken was roasted for 60 minute at 400 degrees. Chicken was added after.

Snacks have twice been Larabars and twice been cheese and grapes (randomly).

Dinners have been more varied and less photographed. One night was an egg & veggie scramble; one night was out at Panera with a friend, where I got black bean soup and an apple; one night was a serving of Mark’s take on my vegetable casserole (sans orzo & chickpeas), which he had made for himself and shared with me; and one night was at Lauren’s apartment, where she served me delicious, homemade and completely “diet”-friendly turkey chili.

She even helped me out with my resolution to replace dessert with tea.

How cute is that tea set?

As for the fitness side of things…

I’ve done really well with the whole listening to my body thing.

I worked out on Monday by doing the elliptical and boot camp but didn’t do any exercises that even seemed questionable for my knee.

I skipped Tuesday’s workout because I’d been up late the night before to pick Mark up from the airport and reminded myself that sleep was more important than a workout.

On Wednesday, I did boot camp and then discovered that my gym had added an Arc Trainer to the cardio room (!!!), so I used that because it’s much friendlier to my knee.

On Thursday, I took a spin class, even though the class starts earlier than my usual workouts. I wanted both the variety and the intensity, as I only had an hour to work out for the day.

And again on Friday, I skipped my workout, as I needed to get my car fixed this morning.

Not too shabby, right?

How are you all doing with your New Year’s resolutions?

9 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

9 responses to “How I’ve Been Doing

  1. I LOVE the roasted veggies, the breakfast bowl, and the Thai salad. Everything just looks delicious. As far as the blog, Kaitlin, let your heart and what you want to write about dictate what the blog will be. You have to write about what you love for your blog to always have a sense of purpose. And whatever that may be, I’m sure everyone will continue to follow you. Just let everyone know what you’re decision will be and never look back. I wish you luck!

  2. I always go back and forth on blogging my everyday eats or not. On blogging about my workouts or not. About mentioning my weight loss efforts or not. It’s so tough to decide what works for you. I’m still working on it myself! I think figuring it out as you go along is perfect! (but I’d read your blog no matter what!)

    I need to get over to TJ’s and try that thai dressing. YUM! Also! Let’s hang out again soon!

  3. To me, sleep is always more important than a workout too 🙂 I’m also not sure if I’ll continue to post all of my meals on my blog either. One of the things I like about your blog is that it’s more about your healthy lifestyle, not focusing on every little bit you eat. Whatever you do, I’ll be reading!

  4. Nikki

    What I care about most with healthy living blogs are regular posts. As long as you continue everyday or every other day, I will be interested enough to continue to read what you have to say.

  5. I’ve been doing okay on my resolutions. I really need to do better with my working out resolution, but I’ll get there 🙂

  6. I think that is the beauty of a blog, it bends with you as life changes and takes on the new things in life that you are currently involved with. 🙂 I say roll with it wherever you see fit (no pun intended).

    Your eats look so yummy and fresh, and good job staying on top of fitness your first week back.

  7. Everything you eat looks so good. You have just inspired me to stay on track today after a pretty wild weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

