Best-Ever Orange Cake

I’m totally torturing myself here, posting something sugar-laden (which I can’t eat on that diet I’m suddenly on), but, you know, I promised. And there are at least two more cookie recipes to come, from the same few days (we bake a lot in my family).

This cake tastes light and fresh and is just as appropriate for winter as it is for summer, which I think is pretty cool. We served this on Christmas day, but I think it would be a really nice Easter dessert, or perhaps a nice cake to bring to a summer brunch.

See what I mean?

While I will say that making this cake was pretty labor intensive, I’d also say it was worth all of the work  – it was really quite good.

Oh, and by the way, it was named by my grandmother. 🙂 The recipe also comes from her. (Thanks, Grandma!)

Best-Ever Orange Cake

Ingredients:

  • 6 egg whites
  • 1 3/4 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 5 tbs fresh orange juice (or really good quality prepared)
  • 1 tbs freshly grated orange peel (about 2-3 oranges’ worth)
  • confectioner’s sugar for dusting

Directions:

In a large bowl, let egg whites warm to room temperature – about one hour.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Spray bundt pan with nonstick baking spray.

In a separate bowl, sift together flour and salt. Set aside.

With electric mixer at medium speed, beat egg whites until foamy. Gradually beat in 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tablespoons at a time, beating well after each addition. Continue beating until stiff peaks form. Set aside.

(You will be doing this for what feels like forever. And honestly, I’m still not sure I got it right.)

In a small bowl, beat egg yolks until very thick and lemon colored – about 3 minutes.  Do not under-beat. Gradually beat in remaining 1 cup sugar; continue beating until mixture is smooth.

At low speed, blend flour mixture and orange juice into egg-yolk mixture, beginning and ending with flour and guiding batter into beaters with scraper.  Add orange peel.  With a whisk or rubber spatula, fold yolk mixture gently into whites.

NOTE: DO NOT overmix! My cake ended up being pretty tough, which was a direct result of my overmixing. 😦

Pour batter into a bundt pan. Bake for about 50-55 minutes, or until cake springs back when pressed with finger.

To cool, place pan on wire rack to cool 30 minutes.  Turn cake out onto wire rack and cool completely.

When cool, place cake on serving plate.  Sift confectioners sugar over top of cake.
And now… enjoy your hard work! You’ve earned it.
7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

7 responses to “Best-Ever Orange Cake

  1. Kaitlin another great recipe.. this cake looks scrumptious. Love it

  2. Looks delicious and impressive! I’m trying to abstain from sugar as much as possible, but I would definitely make this for my family. I don’t know if I could resist a slice though 🙂

  3. This cake looks absolutely divine. I love its simplicity and use of citrus.

  4. i hate oranges – but i love orange flavored treats 🙂 yum!!

  5. gorgeous! and i love how simple the recipe is too.

  6. ahh this looks so scrumptious!

  7. This cake looks awesome! I love orange flavored anything, especially in dessert form. 😉

Leave a Reply

