Swapping In: Breakfast Edition

There’s a reason I don’t believe in elimination diets (other than for allergy, medical, etc. reasons). I don’t love repeating certain foods day after day.

I can already see that this is affecting me. Lately, I’ve been getting really sick of both my breakfasts and my lunches, which have mostly been yogurt bowls and salads, respectively.

I’m not surprised that I’m getting sick of salads (I always do), but I am a little surprised that yogurt bowls are wearing on me already.

I really knew it was a problem when one even this pretty wasn’t doing it for me.

It was, of course, still good. And, were I not in a place in which I kind of needed a break from yogurt bowls, I’m sure I would have found this one to be a winner.


Into the mix went:

  • 2% Trader Joe’s Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • blackberries
  • 1 apricot, diced
  • pomegranate seeds
  • drizzle of Trader Joe’s Natural Peanut Butter

At least it kept me full, right?

One of my concerns about my current choice to eliminate starchy carbs (other than potatoes) is that I think I really miss having carb-filled breakfasts (especially oatmeal, which is ironic since I used to really dislike oatmeal), but I first wanted to try swapping in something else. I’m not one to quit anything easily. So, this morning, I decided to try something totally new to me: the Primal Oatmeal that Monica so often eats.

At first, I was concerned that it wasn’t going to be enough food. However, Monica was right – thanks to both the protein and fat contents, I was completely satisfied until lunchtime.


I’m actually pretty sure Monica does this too, but I topped my Primal Oatmeal with some extra almond milk. I also added a drizzle of honey, blackberries and pomegranate seeds. Yummy!

This definitely could be the solution I’ve been looking for to my little yogurt bowl problem.

Next up: the lunch edition.

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “Swapping In: Breakfast Edition

  1. I am so weird. I love yogurt bowls in the afternoon but NEVER first thing in the morning. I always want a hot breakfast. Weird right? That primal oatmeal does look delicious though. I want to try it.

  2. I want to try that primal oatmeal! Where do you find almond meal?

  3. That yogurt bowl is gorgeous. I feel like you could create a coffee table book all about yogurt bowls. 🙂

    And yay for loving primal oatmeal! I am so glad that you enjoyed it! There are seriously so many fun things to do with the recipe. In fact I will be working on a sugar free carrot cake one this weekend.

Leave a Reply

