Diet, Schmiet

Good news.

Though I’ve been toying with dieting over the past week and a half or so, I’ve decided that I instead remain faithful to my philosophy that simply living a healthy lifestyle is the way to go for me. I’m not going to “diet” anymore. I’ll reach my goals in the way that I think is healthy, even if it will take longer.

I don’t regret that I’ve spent the majority of the past two weeks avoiding carbohydrates from grains, most sugar, and all alcohol. Frankly, I think it helped to point out the weaknesses in my healthy-but-not-entirely-so lifestyle, and that’s important because I’ll be able to address them in moving forward.

Firstly, as I said in my resolutions, I tend to have a habit of snacking too much. I often grab handfuls of things here and there. However, having just about everything of which I generally grab handfuls become off-limits over the past two weeks was a great help in breaking that habit.

Secondly, I’ve discovered that I really do need grains in my diet, especially around when I work out, but that I don’t generally need grains late afternoon – on. I think it will be good for me to reintroduce grains at breakfast but to continue to avoid them for the rest of the day and especially at night (in general but not entirely, as I really do resent inflexibility in my diet).

Thirdly, I honestly do notice that too much sugar makes me feel icky. I do feel better, in general, when I avoid it. However, that definitely doesn’t mean I’m cutting it altogether! I just want to watch my intake. So, you know, I’ll taste test one of the cookies I bake, not two plus all the dough I sampled. 😉

Fourthly and finally, I think I will continue to avoid alcohol for a little while. It’s kind of nice to detox for a bit, especially after the holidays.

I hope you guys don’t mind all of the back-and-forth as I figure out what works for me.

I’ve already started my return to my own lifestyle, and it feels good!

I went out to dinner at a restaurant called Good Earth with my friend Andrew last night, where I actually ate the (awesome) brown rice that came with my vegetable curry. I also agreed to go out for frozen yogurt afterward. I had just a little bit, but it was enough to satisfy my sweet tooth without feeling like I’d gone at all overboard.

You’re supposed to enjoy your life, you know what I mean? That’s why I believe in balance.

And, well, I barely had any grains to work with this morning, but I made a solid effort.

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1 scoop Greens & Whey
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • heaping tbs 2% greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup frozen mango
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 wedge pineapple

On top:

  • coconut butter + coconut oil drizzle
  • raw oats (an idea I got from Caitlin)

It was different, but it worked!

Thank goodness I’ve realized that grains are a staple in my diet (by which I mean the food I eat, not a set of rules!). What are some staples in your daily eats?

17 Comments

Filed under Recipes

17 responses to “Diet, Schmiet

  1. I love your attitude and outlook on eating. Back and forth is what it is all about.. always a work in progress! Staples for me daily=yogurt and usually chicken.

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz

    Your breakfast looks really good and healthy! A staple for me would have to be bananas and soy milk! love them!

  3. I like your outlook. Being forced to think about what you eat is a good way to evaluate healthy habits. Knowing that you need grains before working out is a good thing for sure 🙂

  4. oh, and my main staple is a small hand full of chocolate chips for dessert!

  5. This is awesome, Kaitlin! I think knowing your body and what it needs. I love blending dry oats into smoothies so I can’t taste them. I use 1/4 of a cup or so. It’s good!

  6. Oh yeah, my staples are bananas, cheese (this really needs to stop), greek yogurt and hummus. YUM. Not together. Not always in the same day but I love those.

  7. I am so happy to hear that you feel on track with a eating style that fits your needs! Sometimes I feel like the only way to get a sense for what does and doesn’t work for each individual is to just give different eating patterns a chance by removing various items here and there to see how your body responds to them. I am glad that you found the process insightful. 🙂

  8. Good for you for listening to your body and figuring out what works for you. That’s very admirable! I’m still learning to not label any food as ‘off limit.’ The second I do, its all I can think about, and more likely than not, I’ll binge on it. I hope to have as good an attitude as you do about food someday 🙂

  9. Raya

    GOOD!!!! I was noticing you were leaving out carbs before you actually wrote that you were doing that…and I’ve done that before, it SUCKS. Glad to see you’re back on the “all in moderation” deal. Paying attention to portion size and limiting (but not eliminating) sweets is what works best for me! ❤

  10. actorsdiet

    when i stopped dieting – or putting rigid rules on myself – i finally felt at peace with food and myself. it took a lot of figuring out, and the blog definitely helped me! good luck!

  11. yay im so happy for you! a healthy lifetsyle will do you SO much better for the future- all the best!

  12. I think it’s great that you decided not to diet, but rather do things on your own terms and in your own way. I think you will have much success doing it this way rather than feeling like you are on a diet.

  13. thank you for being so honest in this.
    i really struggle with ups and downs in my eating habits and am usually reluctant to share that kind of roller-coaster-ness on my blog.
    i think a huge staple for me is greek yogurt. that and probably chocolate. which is something i would like to change. i want to learn how to eat less of it and enjoy it more!
    i think you’re really on the right track here, kaitlin. good luck!

  14. Jen

    Love the honesty in this post 🙂 I am trying to reach my weight loss goals, because I’m at a very unhealthy weight right now, but I’m trying to do it without cutting out major food groups, my new motto is moderation, not deprivation.

    Jen

  15. I think the best thing about a healthy lifestyle is the ability to change and adjust it to activity, life stages, moods, etc. Since you are an active girl, cutting out all grains may not be the best thing and I applaud your honesty.

    Right now my hubby and I are trying to get a little healthier and he is trying to see if diet changes will help with his allergies so I’m feeling a little deprived through this stage and can definitely relate to you. I think a little of everything (good and ‘bad’) is the way to go!

Leave a Reply

