Family Cooking

It’s great having a roommate who likes to cook.

Mark and I have started a new tradition in which we cook for each other a few times during the week. After all, we eat fairly similarly (with the exception that I occasionally eat meat, poultry and fish, which he does not, which is fine since many of my meals do not include any of that). Plus, we practically act like siblings… so, why not extend that family sentiment into family dinners?

Early in the week, I made us both Lentil Chili, and then, the next day, he made my beloved (by both of us, that is) Vegetable Casserole, and then last night he again treated me by not only making French Onion Soup (the first time I’d ever had it!), but also banana bread, which I was able to incorporate into my breakfast this morning. Whew!

The French Onion Soup…

What you see on top of the soup is whole grain bread, drizzled with olive oil and topped with gruyere, all broiled before being placed in the soup.

I know, right? YUM. I ate every last morsel.

The banana bread he made was also one of my favorite banana breads I’ve ever had. It was doughy, dense and moist, which is exactly how banana bread should be. In my humble opinion, anyway. Plus, it’s actually a pretty healthy recipe.

I used it this morning as the focal point of my yogurt bowl.

Into the mix went:

  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup Trader Joe’s 2% plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 1 piece Mark’s banana bread, toasted & crumbled
  • 3/4 tbs natural peanut butter

This bowl was awesome.

The yogurt mixed with the bread reminded me of putting cream cheese on banana bread, which I love.

And not only that, but it kept me completely full until lunch, which I actually ate even later than usual today. I’d attribute that to all of those healthy fats.

So good.

I’m going to have to get those recipes from Mark… I mean, I’m assuming you want them, right? 🙂

Happy Friday!

8 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

8 responses to “Family Cooking

  1. actorsdiet

    man, cream cheese on banana bread sounds awesome! why doesn’t banana bread have cream cheese frosting on it like carrot cake? would they call it banana cake?!

    deep thoughts…

  2. French Onion Soup?!
    Yogurt bowl?!
    I need some. Like, right NOW!
    😉

  3. Hell yes I want those recipes! I’m on the lookout for a good banana bread recipe that won’t send me to an early grave. I love my mom’s, but all that shortening isn’t good for an every day treat 🙂

  4. squigglefloey

    Ah, marc should do a guest post with his banana bread recipe ! 🙂

  5. ahhhh GIVE ME your breakfast bowl!

  6. French onion soup is my favorite!
    I want the recipes!!!!!

  7. French onion soup is crazy delicious. My favorite soup of all time!

  8. Yum-a-licious! I only like french onion soup when the crouton/bread ratio to broth is 70-30. 🙂 That looks so good!

Leave a Reply

