A Lovely Weekend

I had the nicest weekend. Nothing big, nothing exciting, just…. nice.

One of the best parts was reading all of your comments coming in about food commentary. It was really cool to hear all of your thoughts on the matter – I loved the discussion! I also loved that almost everyone had a similar (and very healthy!) outlook.

On Friday night, I got to see one of my favorite people, Mike.

He was the director of the thesis film I produced in grad school, but he has since moved home to Mexico, so I only get to see him when he comes up to California to visit.

Since we were both in the valley for other things that night, we met at a restaurant/ bar in North Hollywood that I’d always wanted to try, the Eclectic Wine Bar & Grille.

I wasn’t a huge fan, but I will say this: though I thought the food, especially for the prices, disappointed, I thought the staff was awesome.

For my entree, I ordered a bowl of their vegetable soup.

I don’t think you can tell, but that is one shallow bowl. Definitely not enough food for a meal.

So I ended up eating quite a bit of their bread.

Oh, well. At least my company was awesome.

I was supposed to go hang out with some other friends that night, but I ended up being out with Mike late enough that I had to make a rain check.

Saturday started bright and early with a return to spinning. I got back in the saddle again!

Pun intended.

Though last week’s spinning adventure didn’t go so well, I still loved it, so it wasn’t hard to return this weekend. I’m happy to say that I was absolutely fine afterward. Fantastic, in fact! I can feel myself becoming a stronger spinner.

Is that a word?

My post-spinning morning was so nice. It was in the 80’s all weekend – yes, in the 80s, in January! – so I walked around the downtown near my gym for a while, visiting both the local farmer’s market and, of course, Starbucks. I picked up an iced coffee and headed home to enjoy it with my breakfast, which was epic.

Into the mix went:

  • Pineapple 2% Chobani (love)
  • 1 piece Mark’s banana bread, crumbled (and yes, you’ll be getting the recipe soon)
  • pomegranate seeds

Epic.

Hey look, you get to see how high maintenance I am with even a simple iced coffee. 🙂

Anyway, an errand I had to run brought Mark and me to the Americana in Glendale, which I’d somehow never been to before. It’s so pretty! It reminds me of Disneyland.

Plus, they have a store with my name.

Not quite the right spelling, but then again, neither was my coffee.

I was pretty hungry by the time we got there, so I made a stop at the crepe stand.

I got what I thought sounded like a fresh, light, veggie-filled crepe – the Opulence.

Unfortunately, it was anything but light. It was super garlicky and super oily, plus it had way more chicken and cheese than it did vegetables, so it got pretty old pretty quickly. I guess I didn’t realize that the artichokes/ hearts of palm were soaked on oil.

Oh well.

Dinner that night was lots of fun, but undocumented. I went out for Indian food with my friend Amy (whom you may remember from her surprise birthday party), where I got (super spicy!) Chana Masala and shared garlic Naan and brown rice with Amy.

We also saw The King’s Speech, which I loved but also felt had issues. The issues, however, were most certainly not with the acting. All three leads were absolutely phenomenal. See it for the performances. Speaking of movies, I also saw The Fighter, which was also incredible, and The Social Network (for the second time) in the past few days. There were so many wonderful performances across these three movies! The only big Oscar contenders I have left to see at this point are True Grit and Winter’s Bone. This is the first year that I’ve ever seen so many movies before the awards shows, so that’s pretty exciting.

Sunday was just as nice as Saturday. I started it with an almost identical breakfast, and then I headed out to Pasadena to run another errand I needed to do this weekend.

I decided to use the opportunity to visit Great Harvest, which I have wanted to try forever, given how amazing Kath makes it sound.

It did not disappoint. I am absolutely enamored.

I started off trying a slice of Raisin Cinnamon Chip, which basically melted in my mouth. I ate it so quickly that I didn’t even think to take a picture.

For lunch, I got a turkey & swiss sandwich on Dakota bread, which I’ve always thought sounded awesome on Kath’s blog.

After the slice of bread I’d already eaten, I only had room for half of the sandwich! I brought the other half home – don’t you worry.

After eating, I went back to the counter, chatted with the super friendly guy at the register, and I bought loaves of both the Dakota and Raisin Cinnamon Chip breads. I was so sold. Chewy, dense, flavorful, delicious… I never want to eat any other bread again. And I want to try all of the breads they have to offer. Every single one!

I also got to try one more bread – the Cracked Pepper Parmesan.

Wow. So packed with flavor. The pepper packed a lot of punch! I loved the chunks of cheese. This bread would make for incredible sandwiches… with not much else on the inside!

Anyway, if you’re in LA, check them out. And if you’re not in LA, you still might have one near you! It’s worth it. I promise.

I spent the rest of the afternoon reading in a park close to my apartment while enjoying these two treats:

A handful of dark chocolate-covered almonds and a Kombucha. This was my first taste of Kombucha and I am in love.

Anyway, the rest of the evening was uneventful but productive. While watching the Golden Globes, I worked on my recipe book, a project I’ve been putting off forever.

A perfect weekend!

What did you do? Did you watch the Golden Globes? See any good movies?

13 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

13 responses to “A Lovely Weekend

  1. I, too, thought of Kath the first time I went to Great Harvest! And I went to the same one in Pasadena. 🙂

    The folks working there were so very nice and helpful and the bread was outrageously good!

  2. Go Kombucha! 🙂 Glad you’ve discovered it, if it gets too expensive a habit, look into homebrew, it’s cheap and easy.

    Love Garlic Naan, wish I’d gotten to see that. And I too have found that crepes are overloaded and greasy way too often.

    Anyway, if you can’t tell, loving the food blog! Keep it up.

    The Kombucha Mamma

  3. Kombucha! I love love love kombucha. Just what I need, another $3 drink to get addicted to. Glad to hear your having a good weekend!

  4. squigglefloey

    Oh gosh, my parents live right next to South Pas but I’ve never seen GH! Probably because I never knew about it till recently. Definitely look for it the next time I’m there

  5. wow that really does look like the perfect weekend. great harvest has the best bread. we used to go there in high school for lunch and just eat the free bread haha. i think it is safe to say there will never be a store with my name!

  6. I am way too scared to try kombucha! It’s kind of vinegar-y, right? I would probably hurl if I smelled it- I hate vinegar!

  7. actorsdiet

    2 of my faves – great harvest and the americana at brand! i’m thinking of going to both this week…

  8. yay for kombucha! i really want to try that!.. so much great bread in this post ahah

  9. Yay, I am so glad that spinning felt good again! And yes, role with the title ‘spinner’ – I dig it for sure. Aren’t the endorphins from that class amazing?!

    Sounds like you had a lovely weekend!

    Um, can we schedule co-errands in Pasadena just because I love Great Harvest so much and want to marry it?

    I sadly did not make it to one movie as I had hoped, but I did watch the Golden Globes and loved every second of them!

  10. I freaking love the Americana. We used to have some friends that lived within walking distance and we went all of the time. It’s such a nice outdoor area.
    Andy and I saw The King’s Speech last night. I thought it was absolutely breath-taking. LOVED IT!

    I would love to try a sandwich from Great Harvest. The one closest to me is so tiny compared to the Pasadena location.

Leave a Reply

