Tempeh Curry

I’m actually really enjoying  the challenge of my clean-out-the-pantry (etc.) week. It’s not only forcing me to be creative, but it’s also a reminder of how much great stuff I have in my kitchen that I regularly ignore.

Last night, I pulled a bunch of stuff together – food that I’d forgotten about, leftovers from other meals, and produce on its last leg – and made a fantastic dinner.

Tempeh Curry

makes three servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chopped carrots (I used an orange & yellow frozen variety from Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 cup wax beans (I used a green & yellow frozen variety from Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 yellow pepper, chopped
  • 1 block tempeh (2 servings’ worth)
  • 2/3 cup light coconut milk
  • 1/3 cup Thai Yellow Curry Sauce (again, Trader Joe’s)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup cooked rice

Onion would also be great in here, but I didn’t have any.

Directions:

Heat a skillet to medium-high heat on a stove. Add all frozen produce and water, cover, and let frozen vegetable cook in the water for about five minutes.

Chop all fresh produce and cut the tempeh into cubes.

Remove drain cooked vegetables, removing all water in pan. Add coconut oil to pan, add cooked vegetables back in, and add fresh vegetables. Re-cover and let cook for about five more minutes, stirring often.


Add tempeh, re-cover, and cook for a few more minutes, stirring often and letting the tempeh brown slightly.


Add coconut milk and curry sauce.

Stir to distribute, then allow everything to simmer for about three minutes.

Voila! You’re done.

Easy and delicious.

Serve it over the cooked rice (re-heated, of course).

I actually didn’t serve mine with rice last night, but used the re-purposed rice (Mark’s leftovers, which he let me have) for my lunch today (with the tempeh curry on top) and will do the same when I have the final leftovers of the meal.

This recipe is great way to clean out the fridge! You can use whatever veggies you want/ have sitting around, as long as you think they’ll work.

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

3 responses to “Tempeh Curry

  1. You’ve given me a craving for tempeh! The only time I’ve ever cooked it, I ate it totally plain- boring! I’ll have to try this 🙂

  2. Yum! I used to be obsessed with tempeh. By the way, I have both the frozen beans and carrots in my freezer 🙂 We have a frozen TJ’s food connection!

  3. AHH i so want some tempeh!! i need to get me some ASAP!

Leave a Reply

