Challenge Failures

I’ve been failing pretty miserably at my clean out the pantry challenge in the past 24 hours. What can I say, sometimes life gets in the way!

First, last night, I scrapped my plans for eggs and yoga when Hanna invited me over for dinner.

(I’m kind of bummed you can’t see the super-cute french braid pigtails Mark did in my hair!)

We went to Whole Foods to get our dinners.

Because I was craving Kombucha but a woman took the last one right before I could get to it (!), I decided to try this coconut probiotic drink.

Thumbs down. It tasted like carbonated coconut vinegar. What you see missing from the bottle above was all I could stomach.

The dinner, however, was a huge thumbs up!

I got a base of brown rice, on top of which I layered roasted vegetables and black beans. YUM! I also got one little plantain. You know, for good measure.

The vegetables were insanely good. Seriously, I want to know their secret.

It didn’t seem like a lot of food, but it was so filling. I couldn’t even finish it!

I failed at my challenge again this morning.

Well, I didn’t fail at breakfast.

Into the mix went:

  • 0% Raspberry Chobani
  • CranBran VitaTop (I’ve had them in the freezer and this is the first time I’ve tried one)
  • blueberries
  • coconut
  • spoonful White Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter

It was good, but I was kind of underwhelmed by the VitaTop.

I got a package of VitaTops because other bloggers rave about them, but I didn’t think the one I tried this morning was anything special. Maybe I need to try a different flavor?

I realized this morning (AKA too late), that I hadn’t thawed or prepared anything for lunch today (kind of crucial during a clean-out-the-fridge/pantry challenge), so I was SOL. The good news was that I had to run an errand right next door to a grocery story anyway, so I picked up a frozen Amy’s dinner.

I didn’t love it at first, but it actually grew on me a lot. At only 290 calories, it packs a lot of good ingredients and even more staying power.

I ended up being pretty impressed! I’d buy it again.

Oh, it’s also Coffee Bean Friday today. I haven’t mentioned this in a while! I moved away from ordering anything interesting lately, not wanting my afternoon snack to consist of sugary (or fake sugary) lattes. I much prefer simple lattes from Starbucks, anyway. (Sorry, Coffee Bean).

Today, I just got a Pomegranate Blueberry Tea.

Keeping it simple, ya know?

I have super fun plans tonight… Claire and I are cooking a multi-course dinner for a friend date! Woo!

What are you doing this weekend? Any fun plans?

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

7 responses to “Challenge Failures

  1. I just tried a Vitatop for the same reasons! I got the chocolate flavor, which was good, but it wasn’t amazing. They’re tiny and expensive!

  2. actorsdiet

    i’m not that ga ga about the vita tops either – the chocolate flavors will do in a craving moment though

  3. they WERE cute braids! I love that you don’t bail on fun just in order to stick to a diet (or clean-out plan) or whatever. It’s important to be healthy and smart and economical and ALL of those things….but at the same time, what is all of that for if you don’t live your life? Right? I know. I AM right. Have a great weekend!

  4. I’m not huge on vita tops either! Especially CranBran. BLAHHH!

    I thought your Coffee Bean said, “Don’t blue my tea.” HA!!!!

  5. Question: Have you tried other greek yogurts besides Chobani? Fage or Voskos? Do you prefer Chobani for a particular reason? Just curious : )

    • I have! I have tried Fage and Voskos and I also use Oikos and Trader Joe’s Greek yogurts as well. I honestly like all of them, but I do tend to gravitate toward Chobani because it’s my favorite. I just think it tastes best!

  6. Jen

    The hot food bar at Whole Foods is magical! Everything always tastes so much better than if I would have made it at home!!!

Leave a Reply

