A Blue Frog Weekend

I had a fantastic weekend. Seriously, one of the best.

I mean, first of all, it started out with a four course dinner with Claire.

Then, my Saturday morning started with both the Farmer’s Market and my favorite spin class.

Breakfast, immediately following spin, was basically a repeat of the previous day’s breakfast. This time, I made sure the VitaTop was super warm, which made me like it better.

I mean, the bowl wasn’t exactly the same. I used strawberry instead of raspberry yogurt and Bees Knees peanut butter instead of White Chocolate, since I’m wild like that. I also added peanut butter chips because, you know, why not?

Into the mix went:

  • Strawberry 0% Chobani
  • CranBran VitaTop
  • blueberries
  • coconut
  • peanut butter chips
  • Bees Knees peanut butter

My day got even  more fun from there on out. I had to head to Orange County because my favorite hairdresser is there and I care about my hair enough to travel for it.

I also needed that haircut really badly. It’s super short now! Picture to come, I promise. Gosh, I’m such a tease.

Anyway, before my hair appointment, I was lucky enough to get to meet Monica for coffee!

I got my new regular, an (iced) Americano with soy milk.

We also perused some antique stores and a super kitschy store full of the kinds of things that you really want to buy but for which you have absolutely no need. You know what I’m talking about.

Well, I’d make use for this:

I would totally hang that in my house. I love that message.

I ended up buying a lotion there, but I actually bought the wrong one by accident and I totally hate it. It smells like cleaning products. Whoops!

Something I  definitely didn’t need (in one of the vintage stores):

Awkward.

Anyway, once Monica and I split, I picked up my favorite sandwich, to go, from my favorite bakery. Remember when I went to the Blue Frog with Mark a few months ago? Well, I went there again… and got the exact same sandwich, of course.

I actually ate it after my hair appointment, where I totally awkwardly asked if I could leave my sandwich in their fridge so it wouldn’t get hot in my car.

I’m so ridiculous.

Anyway, I ate half of the sandwich (and all of the fruit and the cookie) in the car on the ride home, and then saved the other half for the next day.

Actually, the next day was totally full of Blue Frog, since I also got a Cranberry Orange scone for Mark and me to split for breakfast the next morning. 🙂

I paired mine with some scrambled eggs.

It’s a good thing we split that (huge) scone in half, because that thing is a sugar overload!

Not that I’m complaining.

And then, you know, the sandwich had to make an appearance for lunch, for which I was starving after my second of something like five walks of the day. I spent so much of this weekend walking. It was fantastic.

I paired it with a new-to-me chocolate Greek yogurt to fill the meal out a little bit.

And then, you know, I had to add some peanut butter chips.

I may have a problem.

And then, later on, I had a guest who suggested breakfast for dinner. My favorite! Who was I to complain?

I also got to break out this pancake mix, which I’ve been dying to try ever since it was sent to me by Fresh & Easy.

Though I totally at-least-sort-of burned every single pancake (my fault, not the mix’s), they were still amazing.

They were served alongside eggs. I actually only realized right now that my breakfast and my dinner were basically identical.

That’s actually not my plate. I took the really burnt pancakes. 🙂

The above pancakes were served classic-style with butter and maple syrup. I had mine with smart balance, cranberry apple butter, and a sprinkle of coconut. Yum.

Is that a good weekend, or what?

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

7 responses to “A Blue Frog Weekend

  1. Looks like a great weekend! I love Orange. Is that bakery in the Circle? I am pretty sure I’ve passed it a million times but have never gone in. I think you’ve convinced me to 🙂

  2. Claire

    Ohh excited to see the new hair cut!

  3. ya for haircuts!!!i love your pancakes too- i havent had some in ages.. about time i think!

  4. That is an amazing weekend! And one should never have to sacrifice an amazing sandwich, I think I would ask my priest to store a sandwich during mass for me if I was worried. 😉

    What did you think of the Oikos? Maybe I am just too super-sized American, but I feel like it is so small.

    Glad you had such a great weekend!

  5. Oh yeah! I forgot that you cut your hair! I want to seee!!!

    Um, I need to try this bakery out. That scone looks incredible.

  6. what a fun meetup! i take the burnt pancakes too. it’s b/c we’re nurturing, selfless women.

Leave a Reply

