Emotional Eating

Boy, did I engage in some emotional eating this weekend. I have had a really rough few days and I handled them all wrong.

Usually, I try not to get too into my personal life on the blog. After all, I don’t know who the majority of you are that fill up all of the hits I get. So, it would be a little weird to treat this as a kind of diary, right? I’m assuming you come for the food and the fitness, not who I’m dating or what’s going on in my friendships, or anything like that. In this case, however, I feel that getting into it just a little bit may be really relevant to this blog, because my personal life directly affected my healthy living.

This past weekend, I lost something I cared about because I handled it poorly. Throughout the weekend, the more I became convinced that my own shortcomings were at fault for the situation in which I found myself, the more I ignored what my body was asking for. Though my body was clearly asking for fruits and vegetables, I instead listened to my head, which wanted to be numbed with things like pizza and chocolate. All weekend, I reached for carbs and sugar and wasn’t eating for hunger, but for distraction. In fact, I don’t think I was ever actually hungry this weekend. I was too busy putting crackers in my mouth to wait for hunger signals.

Way to practice what I preach, right?

I barely took any pictures of food this weekend (really, what was the point?), but I did manage to capture this cookie that Mark and I split.

Ironic.

Fitness was affected, too. Granted, Sundays are almost always my rest days, but I honestly spent the majority of yesterday in my bed, which means I was doing absolutely nothing active. On most rest days, I at least go for a walk. Nope. The only workout I got was when I pressed the buttons on my remote control for the next episode on my DVR to play.

What I really could have used was a good run, but, well, I couldn’t do that.

Fortunately, I’m making myself act like a big girl and not let this become a rut. I’m grateful for the structure of the workweek. It’s getting me back on track pretty nicely.

I didn’t fall asleep until almost 1 AM last night, so I turned off my alarm for the gym this morning, assuming that getting only 5 hours of sleep would just make me feel worse. However, I think I must have needed the workout and I think the universe was over me moping, because I literally woke up within two minutes of the time for which my alarm had previously been set.

And then, when I later went to Starbucks to pick up an oh-so-necessary Americano, they accidentally gave me a Venti instead of a Grande. Normally, that would be too much. Today, I really felt okay about it.

Anyway, I’m already feeling better because I managed to compromise my need for comfort foods with my need to be back on track in my breakfast this morning.

See? Healthy breakfast, full of fruit… but it tasted like dessert because the mix of the chocolate muffin and the vanilla yogurt were so reminiscent of cake.

Into the mix went:

  • Vanilla 0% Chobani
  • 3 strawberries, sliced
  • 1/3 banana, sliced
  • blueberries
  • 1 Deep Chocolate VitaTop (I much preferred this one to the last flavor)
  • 1 tsp White Chocolate Bliss peanut butter

Despite fairly easily getting back on track, I’m still not proud of how I reacted this weekend. Emotional distress should not lead to emotional eating. I feel like I took a few steps back.

I’m curious to hear all of your experience with this. How often do you succumb to emotional eating and how do you address it?

17 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

17 responses to “Emotional Eating

  1. Awe, I’m sorry you had a rough weekend. I hope your week gets better. Good for you for getting back on the bandwagon right away. I hope you find the thing you lost. Sometimes things like that pop back up when you least expect them. =)

  2. I’m sorry to hear you had a rough weekend 😦 I’m a big emotional eater, so I know where you’re coming from. I think it’s great that you realize what causes it and are taking steps to address the problem, rather than falling into the trap for good. I hope things look up to you! Have a good Monday 🙂

  3. Claire

    Emotional eating is the story of my LIFE. Whenever I’m eating not-super-healthy foods I try to make sure I’m TASTING it. That way I get the most of the positive side of it, and know when I’ve gone too far.
    Good for you for turning over a new leaf this week. I hope you feel better. xoxo

  4. Raya

    I think it’s okay to be a little bit personal on your blog, as long as you’re comfortable with it. It’s what sets you apart, in many ways, from everyone else who blogs about food and fitness. People like to read about that but they also like to know about your LIFE. Let me know if you need anything, feel free to text/email/call/tweet/whatever floats your boat if you need to chat!!!!

  5. I like knowing about your life because you truly are a great person and friend. I only wish you lived closer. Seriously!

    I dealt with emotional eating this weekend too. I really, really struggle with it. Especially when I’m stressed out. Today I tried to remind myself that I need to hit the restart button. So far, so good. I think it’s great that you restarted this morning. I love the chocolate-y vita tops so much more than the bran flavors.

  6. Dick Danger

    There are two things I hate. Kaitlin being unhappy and Kaitlin eating pizza without me. Luckily this situation seems to have resolved itself.

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Emotional Eating | Kaitlin With Honey -- Topsy.com

  8. sorry to hear about the rough weekend. Is it okay the split heart made me chuckle even though I know you were down? (using “were” because I’m hoping it’s just past-tense).

    As far as the emotional eating and not “practicing what you preach” – don’t worry about it!!! Honestly, sometimes we all need to just chill out and love our remote-control workouts for what they are!!! And as long as you’re not emotional-eating all the time, I say a little chocolate therapy doesn’t hurt! Of course, I’m not a nutritionist, so what the heck do I know.

    I DO know you shouldn’t beat yourself up about leaving your routine. Just count those days as over and done and get on gettin’ on!

  9. actorsdiet

    hey hon. i’ve definitely been there. this was kinda the story of my life for many years, on a weekly basis. we can talk more tonight. can’t wait to see you.

  10. Jennifer

    I am totally an emotional eater. Going home to my parents’ house does it, stress from work does it. I know the triggers and try to be aware of it, but sometimes I fail really miserably. Today was one of those days. Tomorrow. She is a new day.

  11. Bummer weekend : ( When I’ve got a lot on my mind, my body tends to go on hunger strike. Even when I KNOW I should be hungry, my stomach just won’t process food properly (I won’t get into the graphic details). I think we all need to find ways to care for ourselves , or as my favorite therapist says “honor ourselves.” Finding ways to do that without food might take away some of those cravings. I personally like a good cry (if you haven’t seen The Last Song it might do the trick!)… but a little bit of comfort food is always okay : ) no worries!

  12. I’m sorry you had a tough weekend lady. I know the feeling and really, I succumb to emotional eating just about every single day. but it’s getting less and less as I realize more and more how bad it makes me feel, mentally and physically. 🙂 The best way I deal with it? Write or talk about it…or just run it away. the ladder is my best remedy!

    Glad you’re feeling better and the gym was good!

  13. Laura @Backstage Pass

    Sorry for your loss, Kaitlin 😦 I take it from the broken heart cookie that you’re heartsick, which is no fun at all. It sounds like you’re on the right track to getting back to normal – good for you. I am definitely an emotional eater as well, and lately due to stress have been overeating / undereating. I am trying to fix this by planning out small, healthy meals for every 2-3 hours, until i feel better.

  14. Sorry to hear about the rough patch. I’m impressed with your honesty with yourself and your determination to get back on course. You go, girl!

  15. squigglefloey

    You being so honest and open in your blog makes you all the more human and all the more relate-able. No one’s perfect, and we all have our hard, trying times. You are such a strong woman– there is no doubt you can use this to just make you stronger.

  16. girl! this honestly has happened to EVERYONE including me.. its rough and its tough, but REALIIZING IT and noticing why you were doing it is the best thing ever… its natural to feel this way and turn to somehting like food.. but you have realized it and are back on track! that is all that matters!

  17. I am so sorry to hear about your frustrating weekend!

    And yes, emotional eating plagues my life all too easily. I quickly reach to food to fill my emotional needs and this is a part of my character that I will have to work on forever, it is not something that will one day just disappear.

    That being said, I have learned how to live with it better. I try to avoid the emotional eating to the best of my ability by asking myself mentally how I am feeling and then asking myself what I need to help move past the emotion. Often times the answer has nothing to do with food.

    If the situation is so crazy that I am way too emotional to even address the situation, I have to use the aftermath to learn. I sit down with a blank sheet of paper and write out what happen, the causes and strategies on how to avoid my reaction in the future. It does help to treat it like a learning lesson, but more importantly I forgive my imperfections.

Leave a Reply

